nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=151153)

sniff 05-20-10 01:39 PM

Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?
 
Hello,

Its been a while since the last time I checked this. I have a 4 monitor setup using 2 nvidia graphics cards. I use xinerama to allow the desktop to span all four screens. It works ok most of the time. It would be better if I could have openGL on all 4 screens. Like Twinview, but Quadview if that makes. Is this possible yet? I have heard that there are plans to do this. Something similar to ATI's Eyefinity? I have two GT220's running the monitors.

Thanks,
Philip

JaXXoN 05-20-10 08:27 PM

Re: Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?
 
The feature you are looking for is called "SLI Multi-view" and has been
supported on Linux since 2005. OpenGL applications should just work
on your setup. If this is not the case, then something has been miss-
configured and I recommend posting an nvidia-bug-report.log (type
"sudo nvidia-bug-report.sh" in a console window).

regards

Bernhard

sniff 05-21-10 04:37 AM

Re: Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?
 
Are you sure? I thought SLI Multi-view was only on Quadro cards. How do I make it work?

JaXXoN 05-21-10 08:33 AM

Re: Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sniff (Post 2255272)
Are you sure? I thought SLI Multi-view was only on Quadro cards.

I guess you are mixing it up with SLI-Mosaic (which is only available
for Quadro Plex).

Quote:

Originally Posted by sniff (Post 2255272)
How do I make it work?

If it doesn't work already, then you may like to try "nvidia-xconfig" to
automatically generate an appropriate xorg.conf, i.e. something like

Code:

nvidia-xconfig --twinview --xinerama --enable-all-gpus
Alternatively, you can hand-craft the xorg.conf - for details, please check
http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...neramaglx.html

Anyway, what happens if you type "glxgears" in a console window?
There should show up a simple 3D application. If this is not the case,
then there's something wrong with your setup. In order to help you,
the forum members would need the output of "sudo nvidia-bug-report.sh".
This command collects informations on your HW/SW setup and stores it
in "nvidia-bug-report.log.gz".

regards

Bernhard



regards

Bernhard

sniff 05-25-10 03:37 PM

Re: Is opengl over 4 monitors possible yet?
 
Ok, so I got it too work. The problem was nothing to do with opengl/drivers as such.

The performance of the desktop (not 3D) isn't the best. Is likely to be mostly due to xinerama or would upgrading to some beefier GPUs help. I am currently using two GT220's but could get some 250's? I am trying to improve general performance of things like Firefox.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.