nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Dual Quadro 5600 - Best configuration (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=152994)

Nalberti 07-14-10 02:03 AM

Dual Quadro 5600 - Best configuration
 
I have a workstation with 2 x 1.5G Quadro 5600's and am just wondering what the best way to go about configuring them is, I really want to support 2 x 30" monitors at 2560x1600.

Currently I have just used nxivdia-xconfig to configure 2 x 1920x1200 on the first card with twinview and it works fine but it seems a shame to waste the second card.

If I plug in the 2 x 30" monitors into one card with certain versions of the driver I can do 20?? X 15?? which is ok, but not quite 2560..some diver versions still only allow 1900x1200

Is is possible yet to do twinview over two cards with SLI ?

danix 07-15-10 04:42 PM

Re: Dual Quadro 5600 - Best configuration
 
Xinerama will work fine across GPUs.

SLI Mosaic provides similar functionality to TwinView across GPUs on QuadroPlex systems.

JaXXoN 07-15-10 06:53 PM

Re: Dual Quadro 5600 - Best configuration
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by danix (Post 2288053)
Xinerama will work fine across GPUs.

I'd say that heavily depends on how you define "fine" (SCNR).

Quote:

Originally Posted by danix (Post 2288053)
SLI Mosaic provides similar functionality to TwinView across GPUs on QuadroPlex systems.

In this context: is there any chance to get SLI Mosaic for bare Quadro cards?

regards

Bernhard

JaXXoN 07-15-10 07:09 PM

Re: Dual Quadro 5600 - Best configuration
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nalberti (Post 2287269)
If I plug in the 2 x 30" monitors into one card with certain versions of the driver I can do 20?? X 15?? which is ok, but not quite 2560..some diver versions still only allow 1900x1200

As per data sheet, the 5600FX should support 2x 2560x1600:
http://www.nvidia.com/docs/IO/40049/..._datasheet.pdf
I never tried 2560x1600 myself with twinview, but 2x 5040x1050 works
fine (with a GTX260).

Can you please post an nvidia-bug-report.log? This will provide insights
on your setup and potentially what's wrong with it. For detail, please check:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nalberti (Post 2287269)
Is is possible yet to do twinview over two cards with SLI ?

To my knowledge, this is not possible. I guess the bandwidth of the
SLI connectors is not high enough for SLI+twinview (but that's pure
speculation)

regards

Bernhard


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.