nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Sparkle GeForce FX5600 corrupted in BIOS, worth flashing it? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=153895)

Trojan_Hussar 08-09-10 09:30 AM

Sparkle GeForce FX5600 corrupted in BIOS, worth flashing it?
 
I have an older machine which has a Sparkle FX5600 (SP8831DV/256MB DDR), the screen display recently became corrupted, even in the BIOS pages.

It is dead, or might it be worth flashing the BIOS? It seems to work well enough to allow it into Windows so it hasn't failed totally.

http://www.arthurs.org.uk/Broken.JPG

I haven't managed to find a BIOS image for the FX5600 as it seems to have been removed as too old from most of the repositories.

Thanks,
TH.

Redeemed 08-09-10 12:43 PM

Re: Sparkle GeForce FX5600 corrupted in BIOS, worth flashing it?
 
Yeah- card is likely toast. I'd just replace it. You can usually find good AGP cards on Newegg for like $50 or less. And they'd probably perform considerably faster as well.

HD3450 for $49.99 + shipping. It'd smoke that FX5600. Not sure what you use the rig for, but if the FX5600 was sufficient than I guarantee the 3450 will do the job. :)

Trojan_Hussar 08-09-10 04:07 PM

Re: Sparkle GeForce FX5600 corrupted in BIOS, worth flashing it?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 2299835)
Yeah- card is likely toast. I'd just replace it. You can usually find good AGP cards on Newegg for like $50 or less. And they'd probably perform considerably faster as well.

HD3450 for $49.99 + shipping. It'd smoke that FX5600. Not sure what you use the rig for, but if the FX5600 was sufficient than I guarantee the 3450 will do the job. :)

I've already replaced the card with a PNY GeForce 6200 I had in the spares pile. Just wondering if it was worth trying to flash it, or if the card is beyond any hope.

Regards,
TH.

Redeemed 08-10-10 02:03 AM

Re: Sparkle GeForce FX5600 corrupted in BIOS, worth flashing it?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Trojan_Hussar (Post 2299936)
I've already replaced the card with a PNY GeForce 6200 I had in the spares pile. Just wondering if it was worth trying to flash it, or if the card is beyond any hope.

Regards,
TH.

Well, I don't know- guess if you have the spare time go ahead and flash it. I'd wager, however, that the odds are the card is toast.

candle_86 12-25-10 06:40 PM

Re: Sparkle GeForce FX5600 corrupted in BIOS, worth flashing it?
 
looks toast

Compgeke 07-15-11 02:01 AM

Re: Sparkle GeForce FX5600 corrupted in BIOS, worth flashing it?
 
I need a way to delete, and I need to check to see when the last reply was.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.