nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   PowerMizer settings in xconf.org not taking effect (Quadro FX 2700M, v256.35) (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=154103)

euromonkey 08-16-10 04:37 AM

PowerMizer settings in xconf.org not taking effect (Quadro FX 2700M, v256.35)
 
Hi all,

I have a Dell M6400 with a Quadro FX 2700M running openSUSE 11.2 and v256.35 of the NVIDIA drivers.

I want to reduce the performance level to save power and reduce heat.

Current settings:
nvidia-settings -q GPUPerfModes -t
perf=0, nvclock=169, memclock=100 ; perf=1, nvclock=275, memclock=300 ; perf=2, nvclock=400, memclock=300 ; perf=3, nvclock=530, memclock=799

nvidia-settings -q GPUCurrentPerfLevel -t
3
nvidia-settings -q GPUCurrentClockFreqs -t
530,799

I tried adding the following line in the "Device" section of my xorg.conf and rebooted but it had no effect:

Option "RegistryDwords" "PowerMizerEnable=0x1; PerfLevelSrc=0x2222; PowerMizerDefault=0x1; PowerMizerDefaultAC=0x1"

That was with v195.x.x of the driver. I then installed v256.35 and reran nvidia-xconfig which produced the xorg.conf shown at the end. nvidia-xconf moved my lines to the "Screen" section but after a reboot, the performance levels were the same.

How can I get this to work?

Many thanks!

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 256.35 (buildmeister@builder97.nvidia.com) Wed Jun 16 19:15:05 PDT 2010

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder58) Fri Mar 12 02:13:46 PST 2010

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IQT HDIT22W DSUB"
HorizSync 31.0 - 82.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 2700M"
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0, DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1920x1080 +0+0, DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0, DFP-1: NULL"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-1"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0"
Option "RegistryDwords" "PowerMizerEnable=0x1; PerfLevelSrc=0x2222; PowerMizerDefault=0x1; PowerMizerDefaultAC=0x1"
Option "UseEdidDpi" "FALSE"
Option "DPI" "96 x 96"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

mrn 08-16-10 08:04 AM

Re: PowerMizer settings in xconf.org not taking effect (Quadro FX 2700M, v256.35)
 
mine's stuck between 0 and 1 :/. There's been a looot of posts on powermizer issues, hell, since it was introduced :/

euromonkey 08-19-10 04:33 AM

Re: PowerMizer settings in xconf.org not taking effect (Quadro FX 2700M, v256.35)
 
Anybody else know what might be causing the settings to have no effect or how configure this? Many thanks.

euromonkey 08-24-10 05:35 AM

Re: PowerMizer settings in xconf.org not taking effect (Quadro FX 2700M, v256.35)
 
When I remove AC power to the laptop, the performance level indicated by Powermizer drops from 3 to 2 and the fan stops running at full speed making a lot of noise.

I would be very happy to have level 2 all the time. How can I achieve this? I've tried switching on Coolbits and setting the frequencies manually but it has no effect...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.