nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=154393)

hl_ 08-23-10 08:35 PM

Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer
 
I've encountered yet another PowerMizer bug. It seems to be quite simple:

1. Set PowerMizer mode to "Adaptive". Check that levels go up and down depending on load.
2. Run Compute Visual Profiler and profile an OpenCL program.
3. Performance Level is now locked to the highest level!

Only stopping the X server and reloading the driver module restores PowerMizer scaling (until the next profiler run).
Seems to happen on both GT 240 and GTX 285, driver version is 256.35.

Licaon 08-24-10 10:00 AM

Re: Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hl_ (Post 2306875)
Seems to happen on both GT 240 and GTX 285, driver version is 256.35.

What happens on 256.44?
also read this too: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678 and provide the log

hl_ 08-24-10 03:50 PM

Re: Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer
 
1 Attachment(s)
I'm not using 256.44 due to various stability issues (see other thread(s)). I didn't provide an nvidia-bug-report because both systems are pretty different from each other, but still the issue is exactly the same.

Compute Visual Profiler is from CUDA 3.1 SDK, by the way, and I'm on x86_64 in both cases. Apart from that it's different GPUs and different Linux distributions.

Anyway, here is the nvidia-bug-report from the GTX 285 machine.

Licaon 08-25-10 04:02 AM

Re: Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hl_ (Post 2307257)
I didn't provide an nvidia-bug-report because both systems are pretty different from each other, but still the issue is exactly the same.

having both reports might help the devs reproduce and pinpoint the issue

hl_ 08-27-10 12:19 AM

Re: Compute Visual Profiler and PowerMizer
 
1 Attachment(s)
Well, if it helps... although I doubt it.

Curiously, manually invoking the profiler by setting OPENCL_PROFILE=1 and OPENCL_PROFILE_CSV=1 doesn't trigger the problem. The output imports into Compute Visual Profiler without any problem. That's a cute workaround, but it'd be cool to see this fixed. ;)

The whole thing seems rather strange though. Does Compute Visual Profiler do anything beyond invoking the profiler and collecting its output?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.