nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Can't overclock anymore, please help! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=154613)

patrickjs89 08-30-10 08:29 PM

Can't overclock anymore, please help!
 
Before I begin, here is my set up. . . . . .

Intel Q6600 @ 2.40 GHz
4.00 GB DDR2-800 G Skill RAM
Radeon 5850
600W PSU
500GB HD SATA
Asus P5NE 680i SLI motherboard

My current problem is that when I overclocked my processor from 2.40 GHz (1066MHz/9.0 multiplier) to 2.70GHz (1200MHz/9.0 multiplier), it booted just fine. I ran my 3dmark Vantage benchmark and I saw a dramatic increase in performance with my score. I then booted up Bad Company 2, and not even 2 minutes in I got a hardware failure BSoD. I cant remember exactly the error message or what it said, so I restarted and I set my motherboard to stock speeds. It boots fine, I restart and I put the clock speeds back to 2.70GHz (1200/9.0) multiplier, I save my settings but when I get to windows, it keeps showing that my processor is at 2.40GHz and not 2.70, it wont save my overclock. I tried lower speeds and no matter what I set it to, it keeps coming back to 2.40, it just simply wont save my settings. I cant figure out whats wrong. Please help!

trivium nate 08-30-10 08:39 PM

Re: Can't overclock anymore, please help!
 
reset bios? and to test overclock try a program called
"intel burn test" run it on maxium for 5 times and if your oc isnt stable it will restart your comp

supra 08-30-10 09:26 PM

Re: Can't overclock anymore, please help!
 
maybe even try update your bios to the latest if u havent already

patrickjs89 08-31-10 11:11 AM

Re: Can't overclock anymore, please help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by supra (Post 2310132)
maybe even try update your bios to the latest if u havent already

I looked up some BIOS updates, and I need quite a few of them. When I have to update, do I have to do it patch by patch, or can I just go to the latest one? As for resetting my BIOS, is there a jumper on my motherboard that I need to pull or switch around?

frenchy2k1 08-31-10 01:13 PM

Re: Can't overclock anymore, please help!
 
you can update directly to the latest, as BIOS are independent.
To clear CMOS, you should have a jumper on your MotherBoard. Check your manual schematics.
It should be close to the battery.

Procedure is turn off computer, unplug the power cord, remove battery, switch jumper, wait 30s, switch back jumper, put back battery and finally plug back and power on. Go into the bios and redo your config on first boot.

XDanger 08-31-10 03:53 PM

Re: Can't overclock anymore, please help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by patrickjs89 (Post 2310093)
when I get to windows, it keeps showing that my processor is at 2.40GHz and not 2.70

Exactly what is telling you that your CPU is @ 2.4?, Please be very specific.

Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\System ?

If so use CPUID or something else instead.

Drolfrawd 08-31-10 04:30 PM

Re: Can't overclock anymore, please help!
 
just remove the battery to clear bios as u sound like noob, don't go poking around. you might break it.

Asus lets you update you r bios inside windows, U might want to do it that way , easier for noobs.
Don't be alarmed . it's just Drolfrawd protecting you from yourself.

:D

supra 08-31-10 06:20 PM

Re: Can't overclock anymore, please help!
 
dude never update bios within windows.

just download the bios to a usb stick go into bios and use the ez flash tool.

it will find ur usb stick ask u to select a bios file and thats it.

cake


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.