nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   No cursor on 2 of 3 cloned Xinerama screens. Centos 5.3 Driver 256.53 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=156350)

mrnick 10-22-10 08:18 AM

No cursor on 2 of 3 cloned Xinerama screens. Centos 5.3 Driver 256.53
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hello,

I'm trying to setup 3 cloned outputs from 2 Quadro 1500 cards on a 64 bit machine running CentOS 5.3 (RHEL 5.3). I have each monitor as a separate X screen and have Xinerama enabled.

Using nvidia settings I can drag the 3 screens to be positioned next to each other and all works as expected - i.e. I get a long desktop spanning all 3 monitors. However if I place the screens on top of each other to clone them, I then lose the mouse pointer on 2. Windows and apps appear cloned fine on all 3 screens, it's just the pointer missing on 2.

At one point when just dragging a window I found somehow the pointer had jumped onto another screen, but then was missing on the remaining 2.

I've tried using the software pointer (setting this option for each screen in the xorg.conf but no joy.)

Would anyone have any ideas, I really need the mouse pointer on all 3!

xorg.conf and bug report attached.

Thanks
Nick

AaronP 10-22-10 09:07 AM

Re: No cursor on 2 of 3 cloned Xinerama screens. Centos 5.3 Driver 256.53
 
This is a limitation in the X server: it can only have the cursor on one physical X screen at a time. However, I wouldn't really expect the cursor to jump from one screen to another, but if it does, that's also an X server bug. The driver has very little control over where the cursor appears. It just takes orders from the X server and tells the hardware to move, hide, & show the cursor when its told to. I would suggest bringing this issue up at xorg@lists.freedesktop.org.

If you set up TwinView cloning between two of the screens, then at least those two will show the cursor. Also, it will be faster if you do it that way because each Xinerama screen adds overhead.

mrnick 10-22-10 11:32 AM

Re: No cursor on 2 of 3 cloned Xinerama screens. Centos 5.3 Driver 256.53
 
Hello Aaron,

Thanks very much for the info. So I'm guessing the only way to get 3 screens with a cursor would be to use twinview for two clones and then possibly a DVI splitter of some kind for the 3rd?

Nick


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.