nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   GTX260 Overclock (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=157171)

Drolfrawd 11-16-10 10:35 AM

GTX260 Overclock
 
Can anyone point me in the right direction of how to overclock my GTX260

Zotac GTX260 synergy

I have a rough idea but mneed some kind of guide to sharpen me skills

thanks

Ps is it worth overclocking it ?

Gregor976 11-16-10 12:13 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nvidia_...ools_6.06.html

That's the simplest way. Is it worth it? Let us know. :) I'd try it just to see. You might get 700mhz or more. I'd try 650mhz first, then work your way up.

Use GPU-Z to watch your temps.

grey_1 11-16-10 12:40 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gregor976 (Post 2348332)
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nvidia_...ools_6.06.html

That's the simplest way. Is it worth it? Let us know. :) I'd try it just to see. You might get 700mhz or more. I'd try 650mhz first, then work your way up.

Use GPU-Z to watch your temps.

They must have revamped their tools pretty heavily - I found them wicked buggy last time I used them, although it's been a while.

I like afterburner.

Super easy interface, excellent monitoring.

Drol, reading over on Xtremesystemsa lot of the guys there seem to think going for max stable memory clock first, then working the core clock is the best way to go.

As far as the 260 goes, if you got a good overclocker then I'd bet you can see some gains, just take it slow, no more than 10-20mhz at a time, then test for artifacts and stability.

As far as your shader and core clocks, they are linked on mine, I can't change one and not the other, but I'm not sure about yours. If yours are unlinkable, I've heard a high shader clock will net you more fps than core - don't know for sure.

Looking forward to your results though. :)

Drolfrawd 11-16-10 01:14 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by grey_1 (Post 2348352)
They must have revamped their tools pretty heavily - I found them wicked buggy last time I used them, although it's been a while.

I like afterburner.

Super easy interface, excellent monitoring.

Drol, reading over on Xtremesystemsa lot of the guys there seem to think going for max stable memory clock first, then working the core clock is the best way to go.

As far as the 260 goes, if you got a good overclocker then I'd bet you can see some gains, just take it slow, no more than 10-20mhz at a time, then test for artifacts and stability.

As far as your shader and core clocks, they are linked on mine, I can't change one and not the other, but I'm not sure about yours. If yours are unlinkable, I've heard a high shader clock will net you more fps than core - don't know for sure.

Looking forward to your results though. :)

Thanks men, I will be back later on tonight with some results

chow for now

Drolfrawd 11-16-10 01:57 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
This is weird. Successfully ran to overclock tests , nothing to severe, and my 3Dmark score has fallen from almost 17000 marks last night , to just over 9000?

Anyone got an idea of why this is happening?

Drolfrawd 11-16-10 03:09 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
This really weird, tried afterburner, rivatuner, nvidia performance tools , all of them halfed my 3Dmark score. Uninstalled all of them and my score returns to normal.

Ideas?

Card is a GTX260 by Zotac synergy edition.

Gregor976 11-16-10 03:15 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
What is your GPU temp? What core clocks were you trying?

Drolfrawd 11-16-10 03:59 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gregor976 (Post 2348450)
What is your GPU temp? What core clocks were you trying?

core temps was 68
core clock was 650
shader 1300
memory clock 1100

i tried load sof different ones. but same result

baffled

Drolfrawd 11-16-10 04:29 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
ok So I have downloaded another version of after burner, and I started slowly this time.
Now grey said that his card woudn't unlink , but mine can, but this time i left them linked and
slowly increased the Mhz. I have now a stable overclock and not yet mas i think.

3Dmark 17258 , i'll keep going and then finally upload my finished score and settings

XDanger 11-16-10 04:41 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
shader strapping is 54MHz so up by 10Mhz at a time is pointless.

I'm using OCCT GPU error check thing to see for artefacts now, ATI tool no work so good.


weather its ultimately worth the effort I'm not too sure but its something to do.

grey_1 11-16-10 04:50 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Drolfrawd (Post 2348494)
ok So I have downloaded another version of after burner, and I started slowly this time.
Now grey said that his card woudn't unlink , but mine can, but this time i left them linked and
slowly increased the Mhz. I have now a stable overclock and not yet mas i think.

3Dmark 17258 , i'll keep going and then finally upload my finished score and settings

Looks good bro, Yeah the gf100 (all of them I think) stay linked. Glad you're seeing some progress. :)

Drolfrawd 11-16-10 05:08 PM

Re: GTX260 Overclock
 
Not sure if i am finished yet, but its late, and bed beckons.
I am gratefull for you guys help.
below is some screenies, might continue tomorrow night.

[IMG]http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/826...scoresofar.jpg Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

[IMG]http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/3775/af1j.jpg Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

the weird thing is if I go too far it looks like it works , but the fps drop, almost half speed.
Too technical for me, but if anyoone would like to comment then please do.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.