nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=158576)

xps8700 01-08-11 06:30 PM

GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
I just changed my ATI HD5570 against a Nvidia GT430 and reinstalled/recompiled all my video applications and so far so good (!) except a prolem with sound. The video card is not recognized by ALSA and therefore I have no sound (I am connected direct to my LED TV via HDMI).

alsaconf does not detect the Nvidia sound chipset;

cat /proc/asound/cards will give:
Code:

0 [SB            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xfcef4000 irq 16

and aplay -l will give

Code:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: VT1708S Analog [VT1708S Analog]
  Subdevices: 2/2
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: VT1708S Digital [VT1708S Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

What would be the procedure to get this running under Slackware?

Thanks a lot!!!

Stephen Warren 01-11-11 11:48 AM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
Can you please supply an nvidia-bug-report (see forum sticky posts).

How old is Slackware 13.1; perhaps the kernel isn't new enough for the ALSA driver to know about the FERMI GPU audio codecs; see http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=154755 post 7.

xps8700 01-11-11 08:58 PM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
1 Attachment(s)
hey Stephen, many thanks for replying!

Slackware 13.1 is roughly 8months old (released at first in May 2010). I use kernel 2.6.33.4

I believe the kernel might be too old. Can you confirm this?

I will look at the thread you suggested. In the meantime, attached is the nvidia-bug-report you requested.
Thanks!

Stephen Warren 01-12-11 10:49 AM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
xps8700,

I've confirmed both that:
a) The symptoms in your bug report file match the ALSA driver not supporting the FERMI codec IDs.
b) The 2.6.33.3 (and indeed 2.6.33.6) kernel doesn't contain the support for FERMI codec IDs.

Unfortunately, you'll either need to apply the patch and rebuild your own kernel, or move to a newer kernel or distro/version.

xps8700 01-12-11 05:00 PM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
Excellent! I like this answer, clear with precision!

Thank you Sir!

If you have a chance could you look again at the vdpau discussion thread. I added a new post with new info. http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&postcount=343

I 'd like to take a decision regarding that card (either replace or keep it) in regard to the video playback performance concerns that I discussed in the thread at the link above.

My reseller will give me 1 more week to decide if I exchange for a different GPU series or keep the GT430. I am not ready to make compromises with video performance so if it means downgrading to an older generation, so be it. but I need the opinion of an expert.

Thank you for Nvidia support!

xps8700 01-13-11 09:49 PM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
Well I am in need of posting once more here. I just upgraded from kernel 2.6.33.4 to 2.6.37 and now alsa recognize the nvidia hdmi controllers (yay!) but I still need some directions from you guys to make it work.

Basically, here's the situation:

aplay -l
Code:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: VT1708S Analog [VT1708S Analog]
  Subdevices: 2/2
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: VT1708S Digital [VT1708S Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

cat /proc/asound/cards
Code:

0 [Q9000          ]: USB-Audio - QuickCam Pro 9000
                      Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 9000 at usb-0000:00:12.2-5, high speed
 1 [SB            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xfcef4000 irq 16
 2 [NVidia        ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xfcf7c000 irq 19

but alsaconf still does not see the cards... Now that I reached this stage, how can I use the card for sound output?

Thanks guys!!!

Stephen Warren 01-14-11 10:22 AM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
An updated bug report would be helpful since that includes various other audio information.

Does your distro use PulseAudio, some other audio daemon, or do applications talk to ALSA devices directly?

You shouldn't really need to use alsaconf to get HDMI audio working. Try:

1) Make sure you're running X using the NVIDIA driver and it's driving your HDMI monitor.

2) Run alsamixer -c 2 and unmute everything.

3) Run the following; one of them should work:

speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hw:2,3
speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hw:2,7
speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hw:2,8
speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hw:2,9

xps8700 01-14-11 10:38 AM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
1 Attachment(s)
Stephen, thanks for replying!

I am not sure if I use pulseaudio, I believe so but not sure. I use slackware and I am just a noob in multimedia stuff in linux so I cant answer yet. Is there a way to determine that?

Quote:

Make sure you're running X using the NVIDIA driver and it's driving your HDMI monitor.
X is running and driving the samsung TV through hdmi

Quote:

Run alsamixer -c 2 and unmute everything.
I have only 3 cards in alsamixer: HDA ATI SB & HDA NVIDIA. Selecting the Nvidia card (F6) I only get S/PDIF, S/PDIF 1, S/PDIF 2 & S/PDIF 3... nothing else.

Quote:

Run the following; one of them should work:
neither of these test output sound thru my TV speakers.

Attached is a new nvidia-debug-log as you requested.

Let me know what you think!

Thanks!

Stephen Warren 01-14-11 11:10 AM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
alsamixer will only show a mute control for HDMI audio cards; since the signal is digital, there's no other volume etc. controls that are possible. alsamixer should show OO for unmuted; MM is muted.

Your TV's information shows up in /proc/asound/card2/eld#3.0, hence the correct test command is:

speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hw:2,9

Perhaps you can try unplugging your webcam, and perhaps even disabling your built-in ATI sound-card in the BIOS, and rebooting. Perhaps there's some confusion within the ALSA driver. Note that the appropriate test command may change depending on the number of sound cards you have active; tyr also the following:

speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hw:1,9
speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hw:0,9

xps8700 01-17-11 04:25 PM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
Stephen,

I unplugged the webcam as you suggested and rebooted the machine. I ran this command

speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hw:1,9

and thats the only one that output sound thru my tv speakers. The only problem is that its not really sound but more static noise than anything else...

Normal? I thought I'd hear test music...

Stephen Warren 01-18-11 11:36 AM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
speaker-test plays a (white?) noise sample. It sounds like it's working fine.

If you have a WAV file, you can test with:

aplay -D hw:1,9 filename.wav

xps8700 01-18-11 07:35 PM

Re: GT430 On Linux (Slackware64 13.1) not recognized by ALSA
 
OK

Code:

aplay -D hw:1,9 filename.wav
would not work

but

Code:

aplay -D plughw:1,9 filename.wav
would. I dont know why but some forums suggested to try and it worked.

Now that this is working, how can I get the device to appear in kmix so I can control the volume? I understand it is digital so does it mean that there is no volume control (only on/off or 1/0)? If so I'll need to use the TV remote to adjust the volume?

Second question, how do I get all the programs to output to this plughw:1,9 device whatever it is? Amarok, XBMC, VLC, mplayer, etc are still not outputting sound thru the hdmi...

I am very close so please be patient !

Thanks!!!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.