nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Networking And Security (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   Port forwarding help (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=159388)

Technoholic 02-04-11 10:27 PM

Port forwarding help
 
Ack, I need help... The sorenson tech person came and set up port forward. And I can't bring it over to the D-Link because I'm so stupid in this area. I thought I'd do okay, but no because I can't understand network...yet.

Help, please! I have pictures:

MN700 port forwarding:
http://usera.imagecave.com/Technohol...arding.png.jpg

D-Link port forwarding:
http://usera.imagecave.com/Technohol...orward.png.jpg

t3hl33td4rg0n 02-05-11 02:38 AM

Re: Port forwarding help
 
EDIT NOTE: D-Link uses a different IP range than your MN-700 by default. Instead of all your IP addresses being 192.168.2.xxx they will be 192.168.0.xxx.

If your phones are setup on a Static IP, you will need to change the 2 to a 0 on the third octet.

If your phones are setup on a Dynamic IP, then you will need to get the IP address of each phone before you proceed. I would also suggest in this case that you create a DHCP reservation for each phone so that there IP's wont change.


Name: VP1
Ports to Open (TCP): 1720
IP Address: The IP address of Phone 1
Ports to Open (UDP): Leave Blank
Schedule: Always
Inbound Filter: Allow All

Name: VP2
Ports to Open (TCP): 15328-15348
IP Address: The IP address of Phone 1
Ports to Open (UDP): 15328-15348
Schedule: Always
Inbound Filter: Allow All

Rule for VP3 is not needed because you can open the ports for TCP and UDP in the same rule.

Name: VP2_1
Ports to Open (TCP): 52012
IP Address: The IP address of Phone 2
Ports to Open (UDP): Leave Blank
Schedule: Always
Inbound Filter: Allow All

Name: VP2_2
Ports to Open (TCP): 52000-52011
IP Address: The IP address of Phone 2
Ports to Open (UDP): 52000-52011
Schedule: Always
Inbound Filter: Allow All

Same rule applies vor VP2_3, not needed.


Also, did you run any speedtests on the new router using the wireless?

Technoholic 02-05-11 03:12 AM

Re: Port forwarding help
 
I haven't tried filling in that information, but I noticed a problem here. I can't remember what I did in the MN700.

But our video phones IP addresses are 192.168.2.125 and the second VP has the same set, but with 150 in the end. So for this, I have to set my DMZ to 192.168.2.125 then set up the port forwarding for second video phone.

After setting up the DMZ to 192.168.2.125, the wireless internet becomes limited or no internet access. Am I missing something here? Something I need to do? Again, I have not set up the port forwarding yet. It's 4AM here so I'm lazy to hook up my wires again if I had to.

As for the speed test, I can get up to 11-12 Mbps on wireless, 13-14 Mbps on wired. My dad told me that the MN700 is like 10 years old...

[Edit]: My BIG mistake. It is NOT the DMZ affecting my wireless and everything. When I set up my Router IP Address to 192.168.2.1 instead of leaving it at default, 192.168.0.1, my VP works but the wireless becomes limited/no access. The port forwarding did not help too. So I'm missing something here with the wireless directly. The video phone 1 will work if I set my Router IP Address to 192.168.2.1, but I'm not sure if the port forwarding helps the second video phone.

t3hl33td4rg0n 02-05-11 04:33 PM

Re: Port forwarding help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Technoholic (Post 2387780)
But our video phones IP addresses are 192.168.2.125 and the second VP has the same set, but with 150 in the end. So for this, I have to set my DMZ to 192.168.2.125 then set up the port forwarding for second video phone.

If your on a D-Link router, those IP addresses will not work. D-Link by default will use 192.168.0.1-192.168.0.255. If your phones are setup on a static IP, then you will have to change them to 192.168.0.125 and 192.168.0.150 respectively, or they will not work at all.

When you do this, this is what you should input for the static IP's:

Phone 1:
Code:

IP Address: 192.168.0.125
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
Primary DNS Server: 192.168.0.1
Secondary/Tertiary DNS Servers: Leave Blank

Phone 2:
Code:

IP Address: 192.168.0.150
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
Primary DNS Server: 192.168.0.1
Secondary/Tertiary DNS Servers: Leave Blank


Quote:

Originally Posted by Technoholic (Post 2387780)
After setting up the DMZ to 192.168.2.125, the wireless internet becomes limited or no internet access. Am I missing something here? Something I need to do? Again, I have not set up the port forwarding yet. It's 4AM here so I'm lazy to hook up my wires again if I had to.

There is no point in setting up DMZ for any device when you're port forwarding, so don't use it.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Technoholic (Post 2387780)
[Edit]: My BIG mistake. It is NOT the DMZ affecting my wireless and everything. When I set up my Router IP Address to 192.168.2.1 instead of leaving it at default, 192.168.0.1, my VP works but the wireless becomes limited/no access. The port forwarding did not help too. So I'm missing something here with the wireless directly. The video phone 1 will work if I set my Router IP Address to 192.168.2.1, but I'm not sure if the port forwarding helps the second video phone.

Of course its not going to work. Since your changing the network address of the router, any device that connects to it and is not using a static IP will have to reestablish the connection (doubly so for wireless devices). Just reboot after changing the stuff.


If your set on changing the routers IP to 192.168.2.1, then you will want to reboot all your devices that are using a dynamic IP, and change the TCP/IP settings for any device using a static IP to reflect that change.

Technoholic 02-06-11 05:18 PM

Re: Port forwarding help
 
Problem solved. Thanks, kudos to you.

Changed the video phones IP address to .0.125 & 150 and the port forwarding works, everything works flawlessly. However, sometimes I get lag on PS3. I'll figure out the Intelligent QoS that DIR-655 have later on. Super Bowl comes first!

I wanted to change the IP addresses on the router because video phones were locked and I had no password but I managed to find the password. It was set by installer. So now problem solved.

t3hl33td4rg0n 02-09-11 06:23 PM

Re: Port forwarding help
 
Glad you got it all working.

On a side note, You may want to save a backup of your configuration and do a firmware update to your router, if your experiencing some lag.

As for setting up the PS3 QoS, just goto Advanced >> QoS Engine

Name: PS3
Local IP Range: IP address of your PS3, for both fields
Remote IP Range: 0.0.0.0 - 255.255.255.255
Priority: 1
Protocol: Both
Local Ports: 0-65535
Remote Ports: 0-65535

This will ensure all packets from your PS3 will get highest priority.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.