nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=159771)

OliW 02-17-11 04:38 AM

[Solved] Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
Hi all. I've had a GTX260 working in a 1920x1200 x2 twinview setup for a couple of years. I decided to upgrade to a GTX580. I assumed just replacing the card would be all the configuration I needed. Seems I was wrong.

Now when using the binary nvidia driver, the highest resolution I can get is 640x480 and only on one screen. nvidia-settings refuses to acknowledge the other monitor and won't let me set the resolution any higher, despite me previously having set modes for the monitors.

I'm almost at my wits' end. Any ideas as to what I can do to get this working as it was before?

Driver version: 270.18 (from the Ubuntu x-swat PPA)

And my xorg.conf:


Code:

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 270.18  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-08.nvidia.com)  Tue Jan 18 22:06:28 PST 2011

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier    "Default Layout"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load          "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option        "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier    "Keyboard0"
    Driver        "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier    "Mouse0"
    Driver        "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option        "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Generic Monitor"
    HorizSync      30.0 - 65.0
    VertRefresh    50.0 - 75.0
    Option        "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Monitor0"
    VendorName    "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Samsung SyncMaster"
    HorizSync      30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh    56.0 - 75.0
    ModeLine      "1920x1200@60" 210.7 1920 1952 2752 2784 1200 1224 1236 1261
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier    "Device0"
    Driver        "nvidia"
    VendorName    "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 580"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier    "Screen0"
    Device        "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option        "PixmapCacheSize" "1000000"
    Option        "AllowSHMPixmaps" "0"
    Option        "CursorShadow" "True"
    Option        "Coolbits" "1"
    Option        "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    Option        "TripleBuffer" "True"
    Option        "BackingStore" "True"
    Option        "TwinView" "1"
    Option        "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option        "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1920x1200_60 +1920+0, DFP-1: 1920x1200_60 +0+0; DFP-0: NULL, DFP-1: 1680x1050 +0+0; DFP-0: NULL, DFP-1: 1280x1024_60 +0+0"
    Option        "NoLogo" "True"
    SubSection    "Display"
        Depth      24
        Modes      "1920x1200"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option        "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection


OliW 02-17-11 05:45 AM

Re: Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
I manually upgraded to the latest beta driver and that appears to work. There's still some misconfiguration from my second monitor now being on DFP-3 (was DFP-1) but that's fixable.

My new problem is that after about 2 seconds of playing something 3D (tests were done with Prey (native) and Dragon Age Origins (wine)) the system powers off immediately. I tried underclocking the CPU and it lasted for about 40 seconds and did the same. Just powered off immediately.

Due to the immediacy of the powering off, I think this could be a power issue. I've moved back to my 260 now and I'm going to order a larger PSU to try and offset the new card.

But I'd like others' opinions. Does this sound like a PSU-overload issue to you?

Licaon 02-17-11 06:48 AM

Re: Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OliW (Post 2393150)
But I'd like others' opinions. Does this sound like a PSU-overload issue to you?

PSU maker and model?

OliW 02-17-11 08:01 AM

Re: Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Licaon (Post 2393173)
PSU maker and model?

Enermax Modu82+ 425W

Looking far more likely now I know that. I thought it was 550W but I think that was an older PSU that blew up some years ago. Aside from the GTX580, there's an OCZ RevoDrive, 5 Samsung Spinpoint F2 1.5TB drives, an Intel i7 920 and 6GB of RAM (over 3 slots). Stock speeds on everything... But yeah, I think I've done well to get by on a 425W PSU up to now.

OliW 02-18-11 09:06 AM

Re: Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
New PSU today. Nice Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold @1kW. Stability issues have vanished everything working pretty much as expected.

Licaon 02-19-11 01:16 PM

Re: Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
using 425W for a GTX580 and a i7 ? oh come on :)

ShiningArcanine 02-19-11 02:28 PM

Re: Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
That should be fine as long as the PSU can actually output 425W of DC power on the appropriate voltage rails. It sounds to me like it could not.

Licaon 02-19-11 03:17 PM

Re: Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ShiningArcanine (Post 2394223)
That should be fine as long as the PSU can actually output 425W of DC power on the appropriate voltage rails. It sounds to me like it could not.

some say it needs a good 650W as minimum ;)

and according to: http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine
Quote:

Minimum PSU Wattage: 475 W
Recommended PSU Wattage: 525W

ShiningArcanine 02-19-11 03:44 PM

Re: Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Licaon (Post 2394240)
some say it needs a good 650W as minimum ;)

and according to: http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine

There exist 400 watt PSUs that can output more power than 600 watt PSUs and 525 watt PSUs that cannot output more power than 300 watt PSUs. Power rating really should not be described by a single number and even with multiple numbers, the manufacturers find plenty of ways to do absurd measurements to make them higher than they really should be.

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article28-page3.html

To scale the numbers provided by SPCR, most 525 watt PSUs (i.e. those rated for maximum power at 25 degrees centigrade) cannot provide more than 171 watts at 50 degrees centigrade.

Licaon 02-19-11 07:36 PM

Re: Upgraded to GTX580 but can only get low resolution
 
yep, some do behave but some don't ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.