nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   [HOW TO] Hdmi audio and pulseaudio (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=161462)

Quetzal 04-12-11 04:54 PM

[HOW TO] Hdmi audio and pulseaudio
 
Hello,
I've a solution for the people who want to have hdmi sound with pulseaudio (for example, with ubuntu). It's a very dirty solution, but for me it work great.

I'm running driver 270.41.03 and kernel 2.6.39 (git version under developpement) but it will certainly work with other kernel.

First, follow the official documentation to get the sound working with alsa:
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/gp...dmi-audio.html

When you have a device working (for example, for me, the command "speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hdmi:1,1" is working). You have now your working hdmi output.

Then, create a soundrc config file (i create a ~/.asoundrc but it will work with /etc/asoundrc too).

In it, create a virtual device:

Quote:

pcm.!default {
type pulse
}
ctl.!default {
type pulse
}

pcm.nvhd {
type plug
slave {
pcm "hdmi:1,1"
rate 48000
}
}
The pcm.nvhd is the virtual device but it can handle only one sound by one.
Default device redirect to pulseaudio.

Now edit your /etc/pulse/default.pa

Uncomments alsa sink and give your virtual device:

Quote:

load-module module-alsa-sink device=plug:nvhd
Comments
Quote:

### Automatically load driver modules depending on the hardware available
#.ifexists module-udev-detect.so
#load-module module-udev-detect
#.else
### Alternatively use the static hardware detection module (for systems that
### lack udev support)
#load-module module-detect
#.endif
This will prevent autodection.

Now restart pulseaudio with pulseaudio -k && pulseaudio

You will have a complete working audio system.

gradinaruvasile 04-13-11 01:18 AM

Re: [HOW TO] Hdmi audio and pulseaudio
 
As far as i know you can set the output to hdmi from the PulseAudio tray icon directly.
Right-click on it, select preferences, output device and select hdmi. Never tried though but if the device is working from ALSA, it should work there too.

khetzal 04-17-11 12:46 PM

Re: [HOW TO] Hdmi audio and pulseaudio
 
Hello, this doesn't work for me because when you configure with the tray icon, pulse only can to take the first audio codec, and my tv is on the second.

Now, i put back the auto-detection of the driver by pulse audio and i've the choose between my internal sound card, hdmi audio, and the hdmi audio with the good codec (because i still forcing the load of load-module module-alsa-sink device=plug:nvhd )


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.