nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Twin View and different size screens error (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=161464)

Scorpile 04-12-11 04:02 PM

Twin View and different size screens error
 
Hi, i have a OpenSuse11.4 laptop with resolution of 1366x768.

Recently i connected a 1280x1024 monitor as secundary to gain workspace.

I configured twin view and now i have both laptop LCD and monitor screens working.

Here is the "Before of the problem" picture:

http://img864.imageshack.us/img864/396/1before.jpg

The problem is when i move my mouse down of the taskbar to the empty area like in this picture and do a simple click:

http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/1320/2mousedown.jpg

The result is the following:

http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/5214/3afterclick.jpg

As you can see, both, the laptop LCD, and the monitor desktop area get lost.

Any help is really appreciated!

Scorpile 04-18-11 09:31 AM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
Please... this is really annoying and happens every day i use my laptop... anybody?

sandipt 04-19-11 03:21 AM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
Hello Scorpile,
We are unable to see problem describing pictures. Can you do attachment of screenshots ? Also provide nvidia bug report by running nvidia-bug-report.sh as root.

Scorpile 04-27-11 04:51 PM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
3 Attachment(s)
Thanks for your response...

Im currently downloading the April 20 Linux new version... meanwhile, i uploaded the screenshoots of the problem.

Best regards!

**Edit: Still the same behaviour with new driver...

Scorpile 05-06-11 12:26 PM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sandipt (Post 2420446)
Hello Scorpile,
We are unable to see problem describing pictures. Can you do attachment of screenshots ? Also provide nvidia bug report by running nvidia-bug-report.sh as root.

Hi... did you had time to see the pictures?

Scorpile 05-17-11 08:45 AM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
Bump!

MaDDeePee 05-17-11 01:44 PM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
Why are you able to get there with your cursor?

Could you post your xorg.conf, please?

Scorpile 05-19-11 03:34 PM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MaDDeePee (Post 2434022)
Why are you able to get there with your cursor?

Could you post your xorg.conf, please?

Remember, the monitor have bigger resolution than Laptop's LCD...

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 270.41.06 (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-07.nvidia.com) Mon Apr 18 15:15:12 PDT 2011

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 260.19.44 (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-04.nvidia.com) Sun Feb 27 21:50:27 PST 2011

Section "ServerLayout"

# Removed Option "Xinerama" "0"
# Removed Option "Xinerama" "1"
# Removed Option "Xinerama" "0"
# Removed Option "Xinerama" "1"
# Removed Option "Xinerama" "0"
# Removed Option "Xinerama" "1"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "CRT-0"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Seiko/Epson"
HorizSync 31.0 - 47.0
VertRefresh 40.0 - 60.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 880M"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 880M"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "TwinView" "0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select @1280x1024 +1366+0, DFP: 1366x768_60 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinView" "1"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1024x768 @1024x768 +1366+0, DFP: 1366x768_60 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinView" "0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1024x768 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinView" "1"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +1366+0, DFP: 1366x768_60 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinView" "0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinView" "1"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +1366+0, DFP: 1366x768_60 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinView" "0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +1366+0, DFP: 1366x768_60 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +1366+0, DFP: 1366x768_60 @1366x1024 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinView" "1"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +1366+0, DFP: 1366x768_60 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinView" "0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +0+0"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-3"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +1366+0, DFP: 1366x768_60 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-3"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: 1366x768_60 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Scorpile 06-06-11 09:06 AM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
Bump!

sandipt 06-07-11 01:06 AM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scorpile (Post 2441845)
Bump!

Also provide nvidia bug report by running nvidia-bug-report.sh as root. Which desktop environment you are using gnome/Kde ? Check any display changes with SaX2 tool.

Scorpile 06-07-11 11:51 AM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
1 Attachment(s)
Here is it! Using KDE!

sandipt 06-16-11 06:58 AM

Re: Twin View and different size screens error
 
I tried with Quadro FX 880M (GT216) notebook but issue is not reproduced. I think some desktop layout has been changed. Can you try changing resolution of displays and if possible with Fresh OS ?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.