nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   I am a tech support guy's worst nightmare! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=161583)

Madpistol 04-16-11 12:53 PM

I am a tech support guy's worst nightmare!

On the phone with Kodak Tech support trying to get my printer to work again.

Background: Lightning strike a few days ago fried a surge protector, router, ethernet port on a cable modem, ethernet port on a computer (fiance's), and now, it seems the usb port on my kodak all-in-one printer.

So I got on tech support this morning, first live chat which was dreadfully slow. We were unable to resolve the issue, so they referred me to their phone support. As expected, I got a guy probably stationed out of india (although, at one time he put me on hold and picked up to talk to his supervisor, but instead talked to me again, and it was in english. That threw me for a loop.) We went through roughly 2 hours of talking me through uninstalling/reinstalling the printer, drivers, changing the USB cable out, installing it on another computer, FORCING a manual install, etc. The entire time, I was always one step ahead of him. After it was all said and done, I got the same error every time I plugged the printer into the computer:

"USB device not recognized"

The entire time, I kept saying it was the USB controller on the printer, but he refused to believe me and continued on through tireless troubleshooting. At one point, he even said I needed to contact Microsoft as it was an issue with my operating system. At that point, I assured him that I reformat my computer every 6 months and am not your typical joe computer user. He was surprised that my computer has 8GB of memory and the CPU is overclocked to 3.9Ghz too.