nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=162390)

walterman 05-10-11 02:52 PM

GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
Hello guys,

I have been disconnected for a long time, and i just a GTX 480 as upgrade for my old GTX 285.

I just installed the card, and i must say that i'm seriously disappointed with the performance of this 480 compared to my old 285.

I barely see any difference in Crysis 2 (still at 40-60 fps), little changes in mmos like AoC (30-40 fps), and with my BR2 patch, the performance is total crap compared to my old card (from 95 fps to 60 fps).

I must be doing something really wrong, but i dunno where to start to check.

Help ! :(

bob saget 05-10-11 04:09 PM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
i think it might depend what resolution you play at. usually more expensive cards are much better at higher resolutions, but if you play at lower resolutions, it would be more similar.

Yaboze 05-10-11 04:12 PM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
It's either the resolution or processor that's holding you back.

walterman 05-10-11 08:02 PM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
Well, i do not understand it, but i have returned to my old 285, and the frame rates are better now.

I play at 1920x1200 with high level of AA/AF.

I have been reading the technical details of the 480 vs the 285:
http://www.xbitlabs.com/images/video...-480/table.png

Maybe the higuer number of texture units in the 285 could explain the performance drop with the settings that i use.

I really dunno how to explain this.

WeReWoLf 05-10-11 08:32 PM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
That is a bit odd, when I replaced my 2x 280's with the single 480 I got almost the same performance, with the advantage of higher minimum frames.

Delbert 05-11-11 04:52 AM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
Replaced my 280 with a 480. Frame rates increased a lot on some game, but only slightly on a few. But everything is very smooth now. And i was able to bump up the quality settings to max ( 16xQ, 16xAF no optimisations etc ). My Q6600 is definetly hold back my card.
Do not know if triple buffering will help though.

walterman 05-14-11 02:36 PM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
I installed the 480 again today, to do some tests, and the results are a bit random, in some games, i see slightly better fps, but in others, i see the opposite, a drop in the fps.

I'll be testing the 480 the rest of the weekend, but, i do not have high hopes.

Maybe my CPU is holding the card, but, a 3.6 GHz Yorkfield isn't so bad even nowadays.

Intel17 05-14-11 11:02 PM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
Something is not right here. According to anandtech bench, http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/317?vs=309
the GTX 480 is WAY faster.

Somehow I doubt it's your CPU since, again, according to anadtech bench, a Q9650 holds its own against an i7 860. http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/49?vs=108

Try a fresh reinstall of Windows.

Sean_W 05-15-11 11:55 AM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
What where you expecting though? I mean if your 285 was giving you a smooth 40-60 fps when a 480 won't seem much difference.

Crysis 2 is hardly good games to test. Try Crysis 1 maxed out 16xQAA with Super sampling.

MUYA 05-15-11 10:43 PM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
I went from a 295 to 580 (heat issues) and was surprised to find even better performances in certain circumstances. I was actually expecting the same performance etc

The 580 performed better in benching with Crysis actually. Also it was better in F1 2010. It was better in Age of Conan in DX10 mode in certain maps/areas.

grey_1 05-16-11 12:01 PM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
I'd bet your cpu is fine walterman. My 480 did just fine on a stock clocked 955BE.

Make sure you're doing a clean driver install, including cleaning left over registry bits etc.

Also check your temps/fan speed and make sure the 480 isn't throttling on you.

@Intel17 - you should never have to reinstall windows to swap a video card. I've swapped ATI and Nvidia on the same install with no problems.

Happy Life 05-27-11 06:56 PM

Re: GTX 285 To GTX 480 Upgrade Performance Problems
 
Tessellation, DX11, try it...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.