nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   GTX 460 SLI Trouble (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=162931)

orphenshadow 05-28-11 06:23 AM

GTX 460 SLI Trouble
 
Hey guys,
Hopefully someone here can help me or point me in the right direction. I recently got a GTX 460 1GB External Exhaust for my birthday Love the card. So I went out to get a 2nd one to run SLI, I could not find the External Exhaust, but got a really good deal on the 1GB superclocked. So I picked it up.

These are the model numbers without digging into my case.
01G-P3-1371-XX 1GB EE
01G-P3-1372-XX 1GB SC

I also have an EVGA 780i SLI motherboard with a Q6600 and 8 gigs of corsair dominator ram. I flashed the latest bios on it this morning thinking that might help, but no change...

Windows detects both cards, the drivers detect both cards. But the option to SLI the cards is grayed out. I have deleted the drivers, ran driver sweeper and installed every drive I could tray from 266.58 thats on the disk, up to 270.61.

266.58 does not even give me the option to enable SLI at all. while 270.61 shows both cards but grays out the SLI option.

I am at my witt's end I have tried everything I can think of to get these cards to SLI, both cards work great independent of themselves.

I have an 850 watt Corsair PSU so its getting plenty of power, the only thing I can possibly think of is that maybe the SLI bridge is somehow damaged. But It was my understanding you could still enable SLI without a bridge at a performance loss. So i have tried it with and without the bridge. No change

I have tried swapping the cards putting the faster superclock int he top spot and the slower in the bottom, No change

I have tried using precession to set the speeds of both cards to the superclock edition (the EE will overclock well beyond the superclock speeds) still no luck.

I am really hoping that there is something stupid that I'm doing wrong that will help get me up and running in SLI an that someone here has some idea as to what the heck is going on with this setup.

Here is a screenshot of my GPUZ, and Drivers. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/115101/willnotsli.PNG




Thanks much any help is greatly appreciated.

Bah! 05-28-11 07:54 AM

Re: GTX 460 SLI Trouble
 
I know it sounds stupid, but try rolling back your ethernet driver. I had an X58 board that would disable SLI every time windows updated it. I had to use the driver from the Evga site.

Failing that, you might want to try the 275.27 beta drivers.

Nightwolf 05-28-11 09:59 AM

Re: GTX 460 SLI Trouble
 
Based on your screenshot, you will want to configure Physx to run on the cpu. I'm thinking with Physx configured to run on the second GTX 460, this is why you can't enable SLI.

I have Physx running on my cpu in my own system.

Bah! 05-28-11 10:34 AM

Re: GTX 460 SLI Trouble
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nightwolf (Post 2438758)
Based on your screenshot, you will want to configure Physx to run on the cpu. I'm thinking with Physx configured to run on the second GTX 460, this is why you can't enable SLI.

I have Physx running on my cpu in my own system.

Setting Physx to automatic will select the best option for your system. It doesn't use the card just for Physx unless you select the card in the drop down and check the "dedicate to Physx" box.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.