nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Microsoft Windows XP And Vista (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   DHCP..... help (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=163476)

Dirthead 06-14-11 11:59 AM

DHCP..... help
 
Hi, I'm working on a co workers computer, She running xp sp3 home edition and she was infected with a virus and the virus or on her own it/she has damaged and disable DCHP.. I been trying to get it to start up but when i try i get this "Error 126: The specified module could not be found when starting a service" So i goto this link http://support.microsoft.com/kb/959077 and did what it said. Her pc did not have dhcpsvc.dll so i copied it my uncle who running the same version of OS... and I restarted the pc and it did not let the DHCP start and Im still getting the same error . and now Im stuck again... Any suggestions as to what else could be missing or damaged... or just bite the bullet and reformat... the pc is not able to run vista/win7..?


thanks

Q 06-14-11 12:30 PM

Re: DHCP..... help
 
If the virus is bad enough to have killed DHCP stack, I would certainly wipe and reload. If they don't have any hardware dependencies and only browse the web, I'd fire up a linux distro. I use Windows and am a proponent of the OS, but this will not be the last time you're asked to work on this machine if you have to stick to Windows XP.

Dirthead 06-14-11 12:50 PM

Re: DHCP..... help
 
ya Thats what i think that happened to her, as soon as she used norton to remove the virus.. here internet connection was gone and she said she *might* have removed other stuff as well..
and yes its to old of a pc to run vista or 7.... so they are stuck with it..

ViN86 06-14-11 01:26 PM

Re: DHCP..... help
 
Yea I have to agree with Q. Honestly, if the virus was nasty enough to infect your DHCP files, who knows what else has been infected. Wipe it. :(

mullet 06-14-11 02:13 PM

Re: DHCP..... help
 
Agreed, wipe it.

EDIT!

Bearclaw 06-14-11 02:15 PM

Whip if, whip it good!

Q 06-14-11 02:23 PM

Re: DHCP..... help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bearclaw (Post 2445148)
Whip if, whip it good!

Whip if what? Under what circumstances should I whip? Whip IF it is good?!?!

Oh my. So confused.

mullet 06-14-11 02:27 PM

Re: DHCP..... help
 
LOL I meant wipe it. you dorks.

Dirthead 06-14-11 08:58 PM

Re: DHCP..... help
 
Thats what i let her know...

She did not know if she removed files that she thought was bad or if the virus that she had did the damage but I agree with you all, reformat time is a must for the old machine

jcrox 07-04-11 02:12 PM

Re: DHCP..... help
 
I tried the whip if method on my laptop...

I got a pop up with 3 options...

Beat it
Rock it down to Electric Avenue
Blind it with science

Pretty sure I know which one DD will choose (sicko :p)... I'm contemplating Blinding it with science... I heard that option comes with bigger GBs

nugugu 04-01-12 11:07 PM

Re: DHCP..... help
 
DHCP is relatively straightforward to configure. You can probably use the sample configuration file with very little editing, provided that your .


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.