nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Only 60hz? Uhm! Please help! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=163912)

thailemon 06-27-11 08:55 PM

Only 60hz? Uhm! Please help!
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hello..

Running ubuntu 10.10, SMP 2.6.38 with nvidia 275.09.07..


nvidia-settings wont let me have anything else but 60hz (unless i use full hd, 1920x1080, i get 120hz). in the resolution options i can select 800x600@85hz... but it only gives me 60hz? is this locked some way?

i have an alienware m17x r3 laptop with geforce gtx 460m (192bit interface, 1.5gb ddr3)

running quake in 60hz, is impossible for me. i need my 800x600@100hz+

please someone help me out. ive tried about everything. with xrandr/gtf, xorg.conf editing..etc...

Added some pictures here, so u guys get the point..

thank you!

thailemon 06-27-11 08:57 PM

Re: Only 60hz? Uhm! Please help!
 
and yes, force gpu scaling is of course OFF :)

AaronP 06-27-11 09:01 PM

Re: Only 60hz? Uhm! Please help!
 
By default, the driver will only drive DFPs at modes they report as supported in the EDID. You can tell the driver to drive them at any old resolution by setting the ExactModeTimingsDVI option in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, crossing your fingers, and hoping for the best.

thailemon 06-28-11 02:11 PM

Re: Only 60hz? Uhm! Please help!
 
can't really say it works..
depends if i did i right tho.

tried all possible parameters for ExactModeTimingsDVI..

really irritating.

thailemon 07-05-11 12:58 PM

Re: Only 60hz? Uhm! Please help!
 
bump

seaweed 07-06-11 01:33 PM

Re: Only 60hz? Uhm! Please help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by thailemon (Post 2452621)
bump

Did you generate a custom modeline and put it in the Screen section?


in Monitor section:
Modeline "800x600_100" x x x x x x x x x x ....


in Screen section:

Modes "800x600_100"

sandipt 07-08-11 09:43 AM

Re: Only 60hz? Uhm! Please help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by thailemon (Post 2450130)
Hello..

Running ubuntu 10.10, SMP 2.6.38 with nvidia 275.09.07..


nvidia-settings wont let me have anything else but 60hz (unless i use full hd, 1920x1080, i get 120hz). in the resolution options i can select 800x600@85hz... but it only gives me 60hz? is this locked some way?

i have an alienware m17x r3 laptop with geforce gtx 460m (192bit interface, 1.5gb ddr3)

running quake in 60hz, is impossible for me. i need my 800x600@100hz+

please someone help me out. ive tried about everything. with xrandr/gtf, xorg.conf editing..etc...

Added some pictures here, so u guys get the point..

thank you!

Please provide detail reproduction steps and nvidia bug report by running nvidia-bug-report.sh as root .

thailemon 07-13-11 01:14 PM

Re: Only 60hz? Uhm! Please help!
 
setting mode/modeling, have tried that..

i can set 800x600, no problem... the ONLY problem i have, is that i ONLY get 60hz.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.