nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Microsoft Windows 7 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Windows activation rant (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=164655)

Rakeesh 07-23-11 05:20 AM

Windows activation rant
 
I own three completely legitimate copies of Windows 7 (One ultimate, two professionals) and on my desktop (which runs ultimate) I've reformatted my computer too many times, (mainly due to the recent episode of having to swap motherboards out so many times recently) and now the last two times it has just flat out refused to activate online, saying my copy wasn't genuine. This meant I had to activate it over the phone.

Problem is, it doesn't make that option available to you immediately. I had to somehow fool it into letting me activate over the phone. I went through the steps of activating it over the phone, only for in the end, after entering that long string of stupid numbers which takes forever, it tells me that it can't validate my copy of windows and hangs up. So now I have to call back, not press anything for a while, until it asks me if I want to speak to a representative, and then say yes. Then I talk to the Indian, give him my numbers, and then he asks me how many computers I have it installed on. I tell him one. So he says ok and gives me a bunch of numbers blah blah and it's all activated.

This has happened to me twice now, and I have to do it a third time. It's such a manual process that it's too much of a pain in the ass, so I just found and installed a SLIC key loader. It's pretty bad when it's easier to use illegitimate tools to activate (which work every bit as good) than go through the legitimate process.

/end rant.

Johnny C 07-23-11 09:25 AM

Re: Windows activation rant
 
I have 2 legitimate copies of 7 ultimate one for my pc and one for the media center, I also was in on beta and RC trials. I also had the same issues. I just use the 7z loader now.

mullet 07-23-11 11:24 AM

Re: Windows activation rant
 
I went through the same ****. I got the win 7 family 3 pack (same key for all 3) So when I upgrade the wife gets upgraded and the HTPC gets upgraded. I even got win 7 pro OEM for my PC to keep the the 3 pack with the same hardware just in different cases. So I had to call in to activate for what reason I don't know but it asked me how many PC's this is installed on and I said 2 and it hung up on me so I had to do it all over again and finally got it going. So they don't even know what the family 3 pack key is.

bacon12 07-23-11 11:47 AM

Re: Windows activation rant
 
I haven't had to call in for a technet key ever. I have no idea what the activation limit is on one.

Shatmusket 07-23-11 01:36 PM

Re: Windows activation rant
 
Had the same problem yesterday. MS was apparently doing maintenance to the activation system yesterday and I had to call back 4 times over the period of about 4 hours.

Would have been nice if they had just said it was under maintenance before making me put in my code each time + hold time.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.