nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Putting nvidia kernel driver into initial ram disk (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=164975)

pinguin74 08-03-11 07:03 PM

Putting nvidia kernel driver into initial ram disk
 
Do I have any benefit from putting the nvidia kernel module into the initial ram disk?

Would the driver module recognize the nVidia hardware on bootup? The Linux Nouveau driver seem to set the display resolution at bootup. It would be cool if the nVidia driver could do the same when put into the initial ram disk.

Malte

poltsy 08-04-11 12:05 AM

Re: Putting nvidia kernel driver into initial ram disk
 
The nvidia driver does not support KMS so that would be a no.

Gusar 08-04-11 07:36 AM

Re: Putting nvidia kernel driver into initial ram disk
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by poltsy (Post 2463495)
The nvidia driver does not support KMS so that would be a no.

To be nitpicky, but it's important to be in this case, KMS has nothing to do with the console switching to a high resolution. It's all because there a fbcon driver integrated into the KMS drivers.

Nvidia doesn't use KMS but they do have modesetting in the kernel. So all that would be necessary is for them to have a fbcon driver in their module. But they won't do it because none of their main customers require it.

artem 08-04-11 10:53 AM

Re: Putting nvidia kernel driver into initial ram disk
 
NVIDIA's blob doesn't do/support KMS, so adding it to initrd makes no sense.

Deanjo 08-04-11 12:30 PM

Re: Putting nvidia kernel driver into initial ram disk
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gusar (Post 2463552)
But they won't do it because none of their main customers require it.

Actually it is more of a license issue then anything else.

phil@elrepo 08-04-11 04:13 PM

Re: Putting nvidia kernel driver into initial ram disk
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pinguin74 (Post 2463434)
The Linux Nouveau driver seem to set the display resolution at bootup. It would be cool if the nVidia driver could do the same...

You can set the display resolution at boot time using the 'vga' kernel parameter from the kernel boot line.

Just append "vga=xxx" to the end of the kernel bootline in /boot/grub/grub.conf where "xxx" corresponds to the resolution and colour depth desired. See here for a list of codes:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VESA_BI...o_mode_numbers

Is that what you are looking for?

Gusar 08-04-11 04:38 PM

Re: Putting nvidia kernel driver into initial ram disk
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Deanjo (Post 2463659)
Actually it is more of a license issue then anything else.

Oh? It's not possible to have a fbcon driver in a closed module?

Quote:

Originally Posted by phil@elrepo (Post 2463806)
You can set the display resolution at boot time using the 'vga' kernel parameter from the kernel boot line.

Two issues with that: One, vesafb is slow as hell. And two, the desired resolution may or may not be (with nvidia it tends to be the latter) in the card's vbios.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.