nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   CPUs, Motherboards And Memory (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Question about S-B mobo/CPU (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=164979)

DiscipleDOC 08-03-11 10:11 PM

Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
Are there any Sandy Bridge tri-channel motherboards that will support triple channel memory? I am looking for EVGA or Asus preferably....

Roadhog 08-03-11 10:13 PM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
No. The cpu doesn't support it. Why would you want that anyways?

mojoman0 08-03-11 11:29 PM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
Cause he already has the ram?

Roadhog 08-03-11 11:32 PM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mojoman0 (Post 2463482)
Cause he already has the ram?

Then use 8gb of it?

Ninja Prime 08-04-11 12:21 AM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
All Sandy bridges are only dual channel, they have on-die memeory controllers and theres only two of them, so theres no way to do tri-channel. Sandy Bridge-E 6 cores will have tri-channel memory controllers, but they aren't due out until the first of 2012 now.

Ninja Prime 08-04-11 06:17 AM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by slaWter (Post 2463534)
SNB-E will have Quad Channel controllers.

I think only the extreme editions will, maybe only server versions, can't remember.

Ninja Prime 08-04-11 10:27 AM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by slaWter (Post 2463561)
Only the single socket entry level Xeons will have another socket with Tri-Channel.
The Desktop versions will all have 4 channels. At least the ones that are currently "announced".

Roadmap seems to indicate that the lower versions will be tri and only the single Extreme edition for desktop will be quad, along with server products. Guess we'll see.

DiscipleDOC 08-04-11 11:25 AM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
So the quick answer is that I should upgrade RAM as well.

Slawter, should I do a Quad channel upgrade, or stick with the Dual channel?

DiscipleDOC 08-04-11 11:40 AM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by slaWter (Post 2463620)
Do you change your current system or why do you want to get new RAM?
For a SNB system, you need Dual Channel. For the upcoming SNB-E Quad Channel. But I don't think matched Quad Channel Kits are available already.

I haven't changed my system yet, but I will be doing an upgrade, probably later this year/earlier next year. If I would have known that my current RAM would not be used, I would not have upgraded to 12 GB.

I'll probably upgrade to Dual channel when the newer boards hit the streets in January.

Roadhog 08-04-11 11:41 AM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC (Post 2463625)
I haven't changed my system yet, but I will be doing an upgrade, probably later this year/earlier next year. If I would have known that my current RAM would not be used, I would not have upgraded to 12 GB.

I'll probably upgrade to Dual channel when the newer boards hit the streets in January.

You can still use your current ram, just only 4 sticks of it.

DiscipleDOC 08-04-11 11:52 AM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Roadhog (Post 2463626)
You can still use your current ram, just only 4 sticks of it.

Umm...I only have 3 sticks. 4 GB per stick.

bob saget 08-04-11 12:40 PM

Re: Question about S-B mobo/CPU
 
too much disposable income doc? :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.