nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Resume problems with a new Nvidia card (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=165526)

mlblandf 08-21-11 06:56 PM

Resume problems with a new Nvidia card
 
Hello,

I have an asus a8n-vm csm motherboard that is having a resume problem.

The distribution tested is minimyth 78b3 using nvidia-280.13 using NFS boot.

Previously, this computer had a GT 220 video card connected via DVI and spdif and would suspend and resume without issue.

I bought a new receiver and a GT 430 card so I could use the high def audio codecs. The computer goes to sleep without issue. However, it will not resume successfully.

I am posting to the nvidia forum, because the only (evident) different is the video card.

When I press the button on the remote, the box will power on, but nothing ever comes on the display. It is also no longer pingable or available over the network.

I am at a loss how to start debugging this. Any suggestions?

sandipt 08-23-11 06:51 AM

Re: Resume problems with a new Nvidia card
 
mlblandf, Please attach bug report by running nvidia-bug-report.sh as root after system resume.

mlblandf 08-27-11 11:46 PM

Re: Resume problems with a new Nvidia card
 
Hello,

Unfortunately, I am unable to get a debug log due to the fact that the display doesn't come back on and it isn't available via the network.

I have discovered though that when the computer resumes, it is reversing the mac address. This appears to be the at least part of the problem. I configured the DHCP server to respond with the same name/ip for either permutation of the mac and now I can get the box to wake up.

I do not know why this only happens with the 430 but not with my 220 card.

I consider this issue closed.

Michael

mlblandf 03-31-12 01:57 PM

Re: Resume problems with a new Nvidia card
 
Ok. I am back to revisit this topic.

I was planning in upgrading to mythtv 0.25 in a week when it is released because I wanted support for HD audio. Looking through the logs, I realized the video card I had didn't support it. Apparently, when I "fixed" this issue previously, the box had the old gt 220 card in it.

So, I bought a new gt 430 and I am having the same exact issue. The machine will go to sleep just fine, but the computer never wakes up again. The power will come on, fans spin, etc but the display never heats up and you can't contact it over the network. I have verified it isn't the mac address issue I had previously.

I obviously can't get any logs since the system isn't usable, is netbooting, and the network never comes back up.

Any suggestions on how I could diagnose/debug this issue?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.