nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=166019)

DarkOneX 09-07-11 04:28 PM

Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding, but has succesfully recovered.

I'm sure alot of you may have been playing a game, watching a movie, or simply browsing the web only to have your screen go black for a moment then come back with the above error on occasion or maybe all the time like myself. Over the span of probably 8 different video cards starting with the 7800 series to the GTX 570 I have now and 2 completely different systems I have experienced this error many times, to the point where I pretty much couldn't play any games without it happening in a few min. I even traded in video cards for new ones by either selling/rebuying or RMA and it would seem to fix it for awhile then eventually happen again. I would format C: and reinstall Windows 7 (or Vista the first time I started having this issue was when Vista came out) to no avail. I swapped memory or went down to 1 chip to no avail. I removed all my overclocks and even downclocked my GPU and ram to try and fix and didn't help. I was really puzzled when I recently got rid of my old Q9650/4GB DDR2/Asus P5B/GTX 285 PC completely and replaced it with a new i7 960/12GB DDR3/Asus P6T/GTX 570 setup, case, power supply, and all and it worked perfect for weeks then suddenly the same issue cropped up. I couldn't play any game for more than a few min and this would happen, or sometimes even simply browsing a website it would happen. I RMA'd the EVGA GTX 570 and bought a new Gigabyte 570 and it too was fine for awhile.

Over and over I read others having this issue and I had seem various possible fixes, and one simple one that I had read over and over was to simply disable Windows Aero in the control panel. I had thought that was so silly so I never had done it, besides I love the glassy look that Aero gives Windows. This weekend I was playing Brink (ya I know it sux to many but it was my first play and I actually enjoyed it) and the problem started happening again! Frustrated I looked online once again as it had been some time since I looked, and there again I read somebody stating that disabling Windows Aero fixed it. I still thought that sounded dumb and hated to get rid of the sexy Aero look but tried it anyway and well, it seems to have completely fixed the problem!?

So I'm confused, how is it that there are so many people out there seemingly who do NOT have this issue ever and I'm pretty sure most or all of them have Aero enabled since it is by default, yet I had this problem with any hardware I bought? The only thing I can think of that may be different than other setups is I have a dual monitor setup which I probably did get somewhere around the time I had my 8800GTS card and have had since. Could it have something to do with this? Anybody else fighting or fought this and have any thoughts about my situation? I'll gladly leave Aero disabled now since it seems to have fixed the issue, but it completely baffles me, and I'm a long time computer geek and sys admin for a living but this is just a wierd one to me.

EciDemon 09-07-11 06:06 PM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
I dunno man, I've had vista 64 for a long time now, and no problem.
rig is in the sig but its outdated a little bit, now using a gtx 560ti and an 800w modular psu. had no problems before and still no problems. Though I've seen the driver crash a couple times due to a bit too high overclocks on the gpu cutting it a bit too close to the limits of my old card. The 560ti i run at asus factory oc setting and its solid.

However I've noticed sometimes it glitches and it seems linked with firefox so I have to reboot some times.

john19055 09-08-11 09:04 AM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
I have had window vista ultimate 64bit and now running windows 7 pro 64bit and I always turn off all that bloat ware.since I don't care about a pretty desktop.I want one stable.

Redeemed 09-08-11 09:27 AM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
I used to get that error with my dual G80 8800s back in Vista, but that was years ago. Haven't had it since. Right now I'm down to a single 7900GT and though it's miserably slow in newer titles it hasn't crashed once.

Really wierd error, that one.

CMav 10-09-11 09:32 PM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
I've only been getting that same damn error for the last two months. It seemed to start happening when I installed a new set of drivers from Nvidia, but when I reverted to the old ones, it kept happening anyway! WTF?!

DarkOneX 10-09-11 09:35 PM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
Turns out it wasn't Aero, I ended up getting it again during my BF3 beta playtime, it would happen about every 5 min. Somebody in there said to get MSI Afterburner application (even though I have a Gigabyte card) and unlock the voltage and increase it. I increased it from 985 or whatever default was up to 1050 and so far so good after many hours of BF3 play! So seems like maybe some games are maybe pushing the card harder to cause voltage drops perhaps? Anyway, might try that and see if it helps.

nekrosoft13 10-10-11 08:33 AM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
of course is not Aero, I have 5 systems in the house that had vista and now run 7, and Aero never caused anything to crash.

if one of the basic OS functions is cauing a crash:
1) there is something seriously wrong with your OS, maybe you installed some crap, used some ****ty custom OS files (to change functionality), maybe you used some stupid registry "cleaner" aka registry screwup application.

2) something wrong with your hardware

if you have to increase voltage to get a card stable, maybe your PSU is not reliable and is causing power flunctuations.

unless gigabyte made changes to reference design, if your system is stable you don't have to increase voltages.

i would say get a new PSU.

DarkOneX 10-10-11 10:42 AM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 2489388)
of course is not Aero, I have 5 systems in the house that had vista and now run 7, and Aero never caused anything to crash.

if one of the basic OS functions is cauing a crash:
1) there is something seriously wrong with your OS, maybe you installed some crap, used some ****ty custom OS files (to change functionality), maybe you used some stupid registry "cleaner" aka registry screwup application.

2) something wrong with your hardware

if you have to increase voltage to get a card stable, maybe your PSU is not reliable and is causing power flunctuations.

unless gigabyte made changes to reference design, if your system is stable you don't have to increase voltages.

i would say get a new PSU.

The only reason I thought it was Aero was because this issue was happening to me every 5 min or less when playing Brink or other games, then I disabled Aero and it fixed it. Also keep in mind I'm a system admin for a living, been working with PCs since MS-DOS 5.0 days so this definitely isn't my first rodeo so don't talk to me like I'm like most standard computer users because I'm not :).

1) I never do stupid crap like install registry cleaners on my PC, learned my lesson on that back in Windows 95 days. Also keep in mind this is an issue that has occurred over quite a few OS installs starting back with Vista, probably 10 installs at least.

2) This issue has happened over the course of a number of different pieces of hardware, 7 video cards at least, 3 power supplies, diff hard drives, mobos, etc and a completely new PC so doesn't appear to be a single bad piece of hardware unless I just have really freaking bad luck with buying hardware :)

As far as the PSU goes, I would agree it would sound like that's the culprit but again this has happened over the course of 3 PSUs, this one is a Corsair 650 and I'm way below usage on it and it's only 5 months old as well as all the rest of the PC so the likelyhood of that being the problem is pretty low. My old PSU was also a Corsair but a 620W one and had the same issues on that one, the one before that was an Antec 500W on my old PC before I had higher end hardware. I also have all this stuff on an APC Smart-UPS 1300 that is also not being loaded completely. One thought I had is this APC is one I've had for probably 3 years now and maybe it's possible something with it has been causing this issue all along? I don't know much about power so not sure on that but it is 1 peice that's been the same during this whole time.

*edit*
Wanted to also throw this out there. Even though my sig right now says I'm overclocked I'm not currently, and I've had this issue with default clocks on CPU/RAM/Video so I don't think it's any sort of overclocking issue.

nekrosoft13 10-10-11 11:12 AM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DarkOneX (Post 2489428)
The only reason I thought it was Aero was because this issue was happening to me every 5 min or less when playing Brink or other games, then I disabled Aero and it fixed it. Also keep in mind I'm a system admin for a living, been working with PCs since MS-DOS 5.0 days so this definitely isn't my first rodeo so don't talk to me like I'm like most standard computer users because I'm not :).

Better to cover all the bases, there are 100s of stupid issues cased by people doing stupid things

Quote:

Originally Posted by DarkOneX (Post 2489428)
As far as the PSU goes, I would agree it would sound like that's the culprit but again this has happened over the course of 3 PSUs, this one is a Corsair 650 and I'm way below usage on it and it's only 5 months old as well as all the rest of the PC so the likelyhood of that being the problem is pretty low. My old PSU was also a Corsair but a 620W one and had the same issues on that one, the one before that was an Antec 500W on my old PC before I had higher end hardware. I also have all this stuff on an APC Smart-UPS 1300 that is also not being loaded completely. One thought I had is this APC is one I've had for probably 3 years now and maybe it's possible something with it has been causing this issue all along? I don't know much about power so not sure on that but it is 1 peice that's been the same during this whole time.

UPS, surge protector or power strip also could be causing power fluctuations, or if you live in older house you could simply have old and not as reliable wiring in the house.

Eltigre88 10-11-11 12:17 PM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
Mine does not crash but after a long period of gaming I come back my Desktop to a message asking if I'd like to change my settings for Aero due to my computer running slow. My computer is anything but slow. Must be the same issue.

Peoples-Agent 10-18-11 04:13 PM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
Pretty sure it's to do with the P-State handling in the newer driver sets.

Haven't the 285.38 set not fixed this for you guys?

DarkOneX 10-21-11 02:54 PM

Re: Display Driver Crash Was Aero All This Time?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Peoples-Agent (Post 2492037)
Pretty sure it's to do with the P-State handling in the newer driver sets.

Haven't the 285.38 set not fixed this for you guys?

No and as stated I've had this issue on multiple cards from many different drivers all the way back to the first Vista ones. So far so good though after I used MSI Afterburner to increase my voltage on my GPU to 1050 it's now stopped happening. I have a feeling that my issue could be either related to the APC Back-UPS 1300 I've been using this whole time or maybe the electricity in my house sucks so there's some fluctuation or something, enough to drop the voltage too low on my components causing this to happen.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.