nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   CPU upgrade for GTX 570 SLI (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=166207)

Maverickman 09-12-11 11:52 PM

CPU upgrade for GTX 570 SLI
 
My CPU is not making the grade anymore. My system seems slow compared to the newer Sandy Bridge CPUs. I have to replace my motherboard since I can only run old Core i7s on it. I was looking at the Core i7 2600K which I've heard can get up to 4GHz with no problem. It would make my 940 look like its standing still. Anyone know of a good mobo for the 2600K?

Maverick123w 09-13-11 12:10 AM

Re: CPU upgrade for GTX 570 SLI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Maverickman (Post 2478857)
My CPU is not making the grade anymore. My system seems slow compared to the newer Sandy Bridge CPUs. I have to replace my motherboard since I can only run old Core i7s on it. I was looking at the Core i7 2600K which I've heard can get up to 4GHz with no problem. It would make my 940 look like its standing still. Anyone know of a good mobo for the 2600K?

I love my board. Got my 2500k to 4.4 with ease. I could honestly probably go a lot further but im happy with 4.4 with a minor bump in voltage.

Misfire 09-16-11 09:46 AM

Re: CPU upgrade for GTX 570 SLI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Maverickman (Post 2478857)
My CPU is not making the grade anymore. My system seems slow compared to the newer Sandy Bridge CPUs. I have to replace my motherboard since I can only run old Core i7s on it. I was looking at the Core i7 2600K which I've heard can get up to 4GHz with no problem. It would make my 940 look like its standing still. Anyone know of a good mobo for the 2600K?

Your processor should be able to hit 4Ghz with no problem either.. my 930 has been at 4Ghz with a $20 dollar cooler since I first got it which is almost 2 years ago

boxleitnerb 09-20-11 04:01 AM

Re: CPU upgrade for GTX 570 SLI
 
Your CPU is perfectly sufficient. You know that you can just crank up resolution, enable downsampling and SGSSAA and you are 100% GPU-bound, right?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.