nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Help OC with new Ram (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=166758)

nekrosoft13 09-27-11 10:00 AM

Help OC with new Ram
 
Yesterday I bought new ram, 16GB of corsair vengence (since 16gb set of same ram was cheaper then 12gb set)

anyway its 1600mhz ram, and having trouble getting my i7 stable on them.

before I had my i7 920 at 182x20 (3640mhz), forgot the ratio, but before with my OCZ ram, I had it running at around 1500mhz, uncore was set to around 3100mhz.

I tried to go higher with the corsair, since its faster ram, but that sends my uncore to 3600mhz and up, and system will BSOD on windows logon.

i was able to get the system stable yesterday at 200x19 (3800mhz), and ram is at 1600mhz now, but that might put stress on my vreg temps.

anyone had a similar system oc experience

ViN86 09-27-11 10:19 AM

Re: Help OC with new Ram
 
Can you set your uncore multiplier? Or is it handled by the BIOS? Or is the problem your uncore can't handle the 3600 MHz required when your RAM is running at 1800?

Just as a reminder, make sure your uncore is at least twice the RAM speed.

nekrosoft13 09-27-11 10:57 AM

Re: Help OC with new Ram
 
I can set uncore, but i believe it can't handle more then 3400mhz

nekrosoft13 09-28-11 10:47 AM

Re: Help OC with new Ram
 
still to early to be 100% sure. but i think i found good setting.

200x19 (3800mhz) uncore at I believe 3400ish mhz.
ram at 1600mhz 1.5v

just have to add a fan, to the mosfets (vreg), those temps get little high when in torture test, but still in safe zone.

ViN86 09-28-11 10:55 AM

Re: Help OC with new Ram
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 2484971)
still to early to be 100% sure. but i think i found good setting.

200x19 (3800mhz) uncore at I believe 3400ish mhz.
ram at 1600mhz 1.5v

just have to add a fan, to the mosfets (vreg), those temps get little high, but still in safe zone.

If you can set your uncore, you can get it down to 3200 MHz if you have the multiplier for it.

nekrosoft13 09-28-11 11:38 AM

Re: Help OC with new Ram
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ViN86 (Post 2484974)
If you can set your uncore, you can get it down to 3200 MHz if you have the multiplier for it.

i could set it to 3200mhz, so far seems stable. not sure how big of impact 3200 vs 3400ish bring.

will try to add a fan, and see if i can cool the vreg a bit. I have the C0 version of i7 920 btw.

ViN86 09-28-11 11:46 AM

Re: Help OC with new Ram
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 2484987)
i could set it to 3200mhz, so far seems stable. not sure how big of impact 3200 vs 3400ish bring.

will try to add a fan, and see if i can cool the vreg a bit. I have the C0 version of i7 920 btw.

Overclocking the uncore usually doesn't offer any significant performance gains. Just leave it at 2x DDR speeds, the required minimum. No point in risking stability for little to no gain.

nekrosoft13 09-28-11 01:09 PM

Re: Help OC with new Ram
 
ok, will lower it when i get home.

really waiting for new x78 (or 79) boards, I want to update with SATA III and USB 3 but don't want to waste time with sandry bridge (just a small backwards steping stone)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.