nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Software (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Windows rant... (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=167081)

ViN86 10-05-11 06:33 PM

Windows rant...
 
Ok, why doesn't Windows support multiple desktops yet? Why are we forced to use a single desktop? There are third party apps available, but most of them suck and they're buggy as hell. Furthermore, why doesn't Windows support a nice feature like Expose, where you can display all windows at once and then select which you want?

When windows get stuck behind one another, they're a real pain in the ass to get back out. In OSX you can just hit F9 (or w/e) and select it. In Windows you need to either move the overlapping window or go down to the task bar and hit the icon, then select the one you want. Takes too damn long.

These are two things that are holding back Windows. They're present in OSX and Linux, so why not Windows? Let's go MS, get your **** together...

</rant>

ViN86 10-05-11 06:36 PM

Re: Windows rant...
 
Will this work?

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s...rnals/cc817881

EDIT: seems to work but you can't move windows from one to another. It's kind of a hack job...

Q 10-05-11 06:42 PM

Re: Windows rant...
 
VirtuaWin is what I use and it's very powerful and responsive. There are some better LOOKING products, but few are as responsive. Make sure you run it is an Administrator if you have issues with MMC windows or anything else appearing on multiple screens. That's a common issue on Windows.

ViN86 10-05-11 11:51 PM

I started using VirtuaWin. It's pretty nice. Wish they had it built into the OS still.

Still need a proper Expose like program. I've found a few but they're buggy as hell.

nekrosoft13 10-06-11 10:14 AM

Re: Windows rant...
 
expose? just use windows + tap, you see all windows and cycle through them

Sean_W 10-06-11 11:41 AM

Re: Windows rant...
 
Expose is not the same thing. Windows is a one size fits all OS and I can imagine virtual desktops would be confusing to most people. OS X's spaces are a copy of what Linux desktops have had for a long time, just in a more 3D presented way.

GNOME Shell has this as part of it's design which encourages you to use other workspaces rather than being confined to one.

ViN86 10-06-11 12:14 PM

Re: Windows rant...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 2488375)
expose? just use windows + tap, you see all windows and cycle through them

Yea, but it's cumbersome and I can't select the window I want easily and quickly. The cycling thing is a PITA. I want to see all windows and select the one I want.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sean_W (Post 2488417)
Expose is not the same thing. Windows is a one size fits all OS and I can imagine virtual desktops would be confusing to most people. OS X's spaces are a copy of what Linux desktops have had for a long time, just in a more 3D presented way.

GNOME Shell has this as part of it's design which encourages you to use other workspaces rather than being confined to one.

I know it's not. The expose came after my rant about multiple desktops. And I know multiple desktops came from Linux. Where do you think I saw it before I wanted it in Windows? :lol:

nekrosoft13 10-06-11 12:46 PM

Re: Windows rant...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ViN86 (Post 2488433)
Yea, but it's cumbersome and I can't select the window I want easily and quickly. The cycling thing is a PITA. I want to see all windows and select the one I want.

but you do see all windows, and you don't have to cycle, just point and click to the one that you want, and it go to it as primary window.

Q 10-06-11 01:41 PM

Re: Windows rant...
 
You might want to give Dexpot a try too. More Expo like features, as well.

Remember, run as admin with this one, too.

Sean_W 10-06-11 02:02 PM

Re: Windows rant...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ViN86 (Post 2488433)
Yea, but it's cumbersome and I can't select the window I want easily and quickly. The cycling thing is a PITA. I want to see all windows and select the one I want.



I know it's not. The expose came after my rant about multiple desktops. And I know multiple desktops came from Linux. Where do you think I saw it before I wanted it in Windows? :lol:

Just responding to nekrosoft13 about that. You used Linux as a desktop Vin? Wow :)

ViN86 10-06-11 02:28 PM

Re: Windows rant...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sean_W (Post 2488494)
Just responding to nekrosoft13 about that. You used Linux as a desktop Vin? Wow :)

I ran Linux as my main OS for about 4 years until DX killed gaming on Linux. I used to run Slackware. :)

I still use Cygwin regularly when I'm in Windows and we use Debian on our research group machines. Nothing beats a unix-based terminal.

ViN86 10-06-11 04:05 PM

Re: Windows rant...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by slaWter (Post 2488512)
OS X should copy the way Windows implemented Alt+Tab, per window and with previews.
Windows should copy Exposť and Spaces from OS X.

Both operating systems would get a lot better instantly :D

+1

Someone needs to write a hybrid that plays games too. Then no one has a need for either OS. Also, put the OSX style dmg/iso mounting in Windows. I love that feature.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.