nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   6ch in linux on nforce2 ? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=16733)

mariuz 08-20-03 12:53 PM

6ch in linux on nforce2 ?
 
anyone knows how to enable the 6ch
analog outputs ?
Think on windows you can enable them
from drivers applet .
There is a need to install alsa ?

chaghi 08-20-03 03:54 PM

You have 2 options:
- Install the *latest* "Platform/nForce Drivers from nVidia:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_nforce_1.0-0261

- Install the latest ALSA drivers from the Alsa Project:
http://www.alsa-project.org

Both options work more or less right... actually I'm stil trying to find the difference :)
If you look arround in this forum you'll find a couple of "how-to's" as regards installation.

I don't know if this apply to all the nForce2 mobos, but mine (a7n8x deluxe) has a problem with the center channel, wich "jumps around" sort of aleatory to any other speaker :(

bahamot 08-20-03 08:55 PM

are u serious Nvidia driver for nvaudio can deliver 6 channel?? last time i tried on my epox 8rda+ it doesn't work

chaghi 08-21-03 08:10 AM

Well... it worked in mi asus a7n8x.
It didn't work before, with an older driver version.
But I tried the latest one a week ago, and everithing goes fine now.

mariuz 08-21-03 04:32 PM

How do you test it ?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by chaghi
Well... it worked in mi asus a7n8x.
It didn't work before, with an older driver version.
But I tried the latest one a week ago, and everithing goes fine now.

What applications did you used ?
xmms have 6ch output plugins ?

chaghi 08-21-03 05:36 PM

Quote:

What applications did you used ?
xmms have 6ch output plugins ?
I don't use xmms so I don't know.
Now I'm using Xine.

It uses an open source library for the AC3 decoding (liba52), and I believe that MPlayer uses that one too.

Maybe you'll need to install that library and some xmms plugin (if there's any) in order to get 6ch support. If not... try Xine ;) You won't be dissapointed.

bahamot 08-22-03 03:22 AM

ah, i know, u are refering to SPDI/F then.
I mean the analog out not the digital one

chaghi 08-22-03 08:01 AM

Quote:

ah, i know, u are refering to SPDI/F then.
No. I have 6 speakers connected to the *analog* output of my sound card.
I'm not using any s/pdif output.
Besides, I don't have any "external" decoder.

bahamot 08-22-03 09:31 AM

uhmm strange, so nvidia make 6ch only available for Asus mobo? my Epox 8RDA+ don't have 6ch......

chaghi 08-22-03 10:04 AM

Quote:

uhmm strange, so nvidia make 6ch only available for Asus mobo? my Epox 8RDA+ don't have 6ch......
I don't know.
Why don't you ask at nForcersHQ.com . They have a specific forum for Epox. Maybe some other users there can put some "light" on this.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.