nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   GTX 570 bottleneck? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=167368)

MaysitoJr 10-14-11 03:11 PM

GTX 570 bottleneck?
 
Hey guys,
I just bought a Geforce GTX 570 1.3GB videocard, but i am a little worried my system could bottleneck it... i got an AMD Phenom X4 @3.5Ghz and 8gigs of RAM. BTW my gaming resolution is 1920x1080.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance.

Rollo 10-16-11 04:45 AM

Re: GTX 570 bottleneck?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zer0 (Post 2490736)
bulldozer

No, that is not the answer for gaming:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu..._10.html#sect0

At your 19X10 resolution with AA the Phenom II you have should be fine, games are more GPU limited than CPU limited these days. (with a few exceptions, and RTS games)

If you play shooters mainly your current cpu will only be a limitation if you add a second 570, for one it's fine. Enjoy, and avoid the Bulldozer. You have a better cpu.

Madpistol 10-16-11 10:45 PM

Re: GTX 570 bottleneck?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MaysitoJr (Post 2490734)
Hey guys,
I just bought a Geforce GTX 570 1.3GB videocard, but i am a little worried my system could bottleneck it... i got an AMD Phenom X4 @3.5Ghz and 8gigs of RAM. BTW my gaming resolution is 1920x1080.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance.

You're fine. No bottleneck with that configuration.

Enjoy.

MaysitoJr 10-17-11 07:37 AM

Re: GTX 570 bottleneck?
 
Thank you all for the answers :), i just got my card yesterday and it rocks!!, i've tried so far Crysis 2 and it runs smooth as silk . By the way i also run 3dmark 11 and i got 5297 in performance setting, is that about right?

Sean_W 10-17-11 03:15 PM

Re: GTX 570 bottleneck?
 
Original Crysis using 32xAA and extreme config rocks too. :)

john19055 10-18-11 11:43 AM

Re: GTX 570 bottleneck?
 
The new AMD Buldozer looks good with 8 cores and 16 threads ,but until games can make use of all those threads ,it just looks good ,plus the price can be beat for a 8 core CPU ,but with games right now you are better off just getting a Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz .They overclock like cazy 4.5gigs most of the time and some will do even more ocourse with a voltage bumb.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.