nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   NVIDIA drivers won't install... (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=1675)

Dnzauker 09-09-02 02:28 PM

NVIDIA drivers won't install...

Hello everybody

I'm just new at Linux, but I followed the advice of a friend and went for installation of the NVidia drivers from .tar files.

The distro is a RH 7.3, i followed the instructions in the README to the word, but when I rebooted the bos the X server won't start, saying "unable to initialize blah blah"

if I tried a "modprobe nvidia" it said that the module did not exist.

Before someone asks I remembered to edit the Config_4 file :)

Can someone help me please?

Thanks for your attention

ian 09-09-02 11:44 PM

Save yourself the heartache and install from the RPMs. It has worked for me on several occaisions without a hitch.

Ian.

Dnzauker 09-10-02 03:14 AM

I'll try that, next
I went straight to the .tars because some friends of mine told me that the .rpms often didn't work

bwkaz 09-10-02 06:43 AM

Actually, you may not have to. Try "modprobe NVdriver" instead of nvidia, and see if that helps ;)

Dnzauker 09-12-02 02:08 AM

I tried modprobe NVdriver. the driver in effects loads after that, but the X server won't start anyway.

So i got the .rpms and installed them. no problem everything installed properly or so it seemed.

unfortunately I had the same problem on reboot. no X.

The log file says "can't load module NVdriver. can't locate module" or something like that.

NVdriver IS in /lib/modules/(etc etc)/video, so I don't know why is this.

Where is that the system makes the connection between the module name "nvidia" I put in the XConfig file and the real file name "NVdriver"? Could it be that the system someway thinks that the module is in a different location? Or is that message a "catch-all" error?

Hope someone can help me!!