nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Little advice for battlefield 3? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=167716)

Kaniibal 10-23-11 10:32 PM

Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
I am just a typical gamer and i say that my machine is fairly good because i never had any problems with it however i have been pumped for bf3 for a while and i decided that it's time for an upgrade.

The only problem is i have o idea what card to go for and i am planning for a card to last me few good years on high(est) specs.

My cash limit is around 350 ($550) though i don't mind paying less if there is a card that meets such standards.

Now don't know if i should go for such card as an Zotac GeForce GTX 580 (AMP) or something else (perhaps cheaper).
I also am upgrading my monitor but nothing to big 24inch max because i feel that 22-24 is a perfect gaming size monitor for me.

I just want an opinion from someone with this kind of knowledge that will provide me with an answer to my problem.
Thanks to anyone that will answer my question!

These are my current specs
Processor Intel i7-2600 Processor
- Quad-core
- 3.4Ghz
- 8MB cache memory
Operating System Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
RAM 8GB (4GB + 4GB), DDR3, 1333Mhz, Maximum expandable memory 8GB (4GB + 4GB)
Graphics card AMD HD6770
Hard drive 2TB, <7200rpm

bob saget 10-23-11 10:36 PM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
Welcome to the forums.

Any mid to high level graphics card requires a decent power supply. Usually the requirement pages of graphics cards have the kind of power supply that is recommended. It is a god idea to go over the wattage that is specified. So, if a 500watt power supply is recommended for a certain card, better to go 600-700, just to be sure.

Others can recommend specific cards as I am not 100% knowledgeable on the current generation.

jcrox 10-23-11 11:10 PM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
... the PSU's amperage is more important than the watts.

/bob_saget

Kaniibal 10-24-11 07:51 AM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
i am sorry but how do i know what is mine psu/watt?
do i have to look in my tower or check the power cord?

lee63 10-24-11 08:21 AM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaniibal (Post 2493933)
i am sorry but how do i know what is mine psu/watt?
do i have to look in my tower or check the power cord?

Take a good hard look at the label on the exterior of your PSU...or post a pic of it ;)

Kaniibal 10-24-11 08:45 AM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
will do

snowmanwithahat 10-24-11 10:09 AM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
My advice.... lots of VRAM

I know this is probably an isolated issue but my GTX 470 SLI setup was having some serious issues during the beta with VRAM usage. It made the game very choppy and uplayable... but then again this was at 2560x1600. Regardless of that fact though it's the most VRAM usage I've seen in a game to date

Kaniibal 10-24-11 11:59 AM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
1 Attachment(s)
all right this is it
and i already posted my current specs snowman i have 8gb

i also wanted to add that i am planning to buy this tower just a little upgrade from my old blend one
http://http://www.nzxt.com/new/produ...series/phantom
dunno if it makes any difference but i just wanted to add.

I also wanted to thank everyone who took an interest in answering i am new to the forum and already i really like it :]

mojoman0 10-24-11 12:36 PM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
you want your 12V rails to add up to at least 42A for a gtx 580 according to evga. Your 12v rails can only supply 34A on that psu so you will need something in the higher wattage range like 600 or so but make sure your 12V rail(s) add up to at least 42A if you get a gtx 580

Talon 10-24-11 01:07 PM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
VRAM not System RAM. Snowman is referring to the RAM on your video card. :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaniibal (Post 2494025)
all right this is it
and i already posted my current specs snowman i have 8gb


Kaniibal 10-24-11 01:53 PM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
thx
i am still kinda new to the hardware "society"

Kaniibal 10-24-11 01:55 PM

Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?
 
you mean something like this?
http://www.dabs.com/products/ocz-tec...l?q=OCZ%20600W

and once i buy and attache that will i be all set?

Quote:

Originally Posted by mojoman0 (Post 2494051)
you want your 12V rails to add up to at least 42A for a gtx 580 according to evga. Your 12v rails can only supply 34A on that psu so you will need something in the higher wattage range like 600 or so but make sure your 12V rail(s) add up to at least 42A if you get a gtx 580



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.