nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Can't overclock 2500k (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=168912)

Jon 11-20-11 05:03 PM

Can't overclock 2500k
 
I've read every guide and forum i can find. But i can't even get it stable at 3.7ghz. Auto voltage gives me 1.34v. I can run Prime95 for 12+ hours. But Skyrim / BF3 Ctd after just a few minutes. Its a Gigabyte z68 board btw. Surely thats enough voltage for 3.7ghz? 4ghz is just the same. Should i increase the voltage more?

dukenukemz 11-20-11 07:57 PM

Re: Can't overclock 2500k
 
Are you 100% sure its your CPU? have u tried any other games. BF3 and Skyrim are new games which have many driver issues causing it to crash. There's a few known problems with BF3 that many people cant even boot up the game due to driver problems. i would update ur nvidia drivers to the latest beta ones and try those. other than that revert ur OC to stock and see if it works the performance boost ur going to get in the games is about 2-3 fps with a CPU overclock.

Maverick123w 11-21-11 12:41 AM

Re: Can't overclock 2500k
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jon (Post 2503801)
I've read every guide and forum i can find. But i can't even get it stable at 3.7ghz. Auto voltage gives me 1.34v. I can run Prime95 for 12+ hours. But Skyrim / BF3 Ctd after just a few minutes. Its a Gigabyte z68 board btw. Surely thats enough voltage for 3.7ghz? 4ghz is just the same. Should i increase the voltage more?

That seems like waaaaay too much voltage for 3.7ghz.... Have you by chance run a memtest on your RAM? I had a system once that kept getting progressively less stable. First it wouldn't run at 4ghz any more, then 3.8, then 3.6 etc etc. until it would blue screen at stock speeds.

Happened to be a bad stick of RAM.

frenchy2k1 11-21-11 12:14 PM

Re: Can't overclock 2500k
 
I second the notion that it's probably NOT your CPU.
Could be driver/graphic/RAM.
Had to down clock my video card to run skyrim, while it was stable with the other programs.

Jon 11-21-11 04:50 PM

Re: Can't overclock 2500k
 
Ok, well, I'm not having much luck tonight. First things, I have the latest Nvidia beta drivers. I can't say for sure that Skyrim / BF3 aren't the issue. All I can say is I'm level 22 in BF3... and at 4ghz it CTDs about 3 times an hour. At stock, its not done it yet. Same with Skyrim, no problems at stock, occasional CTD oced.

I've grabbed memtest86+ 4.20 but it doesn't do anything. I reboot and instead of getting the memtest blue screen with percentage bar as normal, it just sits at "loading operating system". I didn't see any mention of Z68 in the patch notes. I'm just grabbing OCCT to give that a try. I don't see how else I can test the ram. Any ideas?

As for GPUs, I bought factory OC'd GPUs but for the moment have reduced them to Nvidia stock speeds to eliminate them from being the issue.

EDITED: For some reason, the ISO seems to be Memtest 4.10, I'm using the USB one now which is 4.20 and its finally running. I passed all tests once... its on its second run now.

T.h.o.m.a.s. 11-21-11 05:51 PM

Re: Can't overclock 2500k
 
psu voltages ok ?

Jon 11-22-11 04:25 PM

Re: Can't overclock 2500k
 
They look good to me. I have 12.12 on the 12v, 3.34 on the 3.3v and 5.08 on the 5v. Under load they drop about 0.01 - 0.02.

Hmmm, I'm not being too hopeful but I've managed to play a couple of hours of BF3 at 4GHZ without a crash at 1.30v. I changed a setting in the bios labelled performance enchance. It was set to Turbo and I changed it to Standard. In the help text it says set to Standard for improved stability when overclocking. From what I've Googled, it tweaks the memory timings more aggressively.

Even with it set to Turbo, I made it through the night on OCCT (Linpack). So I can now add 5 passes of Memtest86+, a night of Prime95 and a night of OCCT.

caseking 11-22-11 04:50 PM

Re: Can't overclock 2500k
 
Ram speed/ multiplier. Try the lowest ram speed first. Sandy bridge is VERY robust. I've gone through 4 sets of ram to get good stability at 4.9/ 2133mhz. Also, don't listen to scardycats about voltage being to high. I have had mine for 9 months at 1.45 to 1.50,as long as your temps are less than 80 degrees C, that chip will take it like a real man!!! After all, these things will be obsolete before you electromigrate 'em. Just for giggles, try running your base clock at 101, oddly, it seems to help with stability on some sandies.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.