nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   CPUs, Motherboards And Memory (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=170914)

red777star 12-22-11 07:44 PM

Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
Intel ****ed up overclocking with Sandy Bridge in my book big time. Is there a way to force Sandy Bridge - E to keep all cores on overclock speed. I don't care about power saving, really don't. I tried to disable C crap and even C1E and Speedstep but it still lower clock speed based on load. This is bull****.

Roadhog 12-22-11 07:44 PM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
waaa

red777star 12-22-11 07:47 PM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Roadhog (Post 2513470)
waaa

I don't want Intel to tell me when CPU speed is going to kick to full speed based on load. I want to run it at 4.4Ghz all the time, even if i play Crysis 2 or playing ****ing Solitaire. Sorry, it just pisses me off.

Roadhog 12-22-11 07:55 PM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by red777star (Post 2513471)
I don't want Intel to tell me when CPU speed is going to kick to full speed based on load. I want to run it at 4.4Ghz all the time, even if i play Crysis 2 or playing ****ing Solitaire. Sorry, it just pisses me off.

Did you disable turbo mode...

red777star 12-22-11 08:17 PM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Roadhog (Post 2513476)
Did you disable turbo mode...

There is no option to disable Turbo Mode. ASRock Extreme4 x79.

Redeemed 12-22-11 09:18 PM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
May seem obvious but did you update to the latest BIOS?

jcrox 12-22-11 11:21 PM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
I was able to set mine to stay at 4.4GHz with no power saving....


You're doing it wrong

mullet 12-23-11 12:00 AM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by red777star (Post 2513481)
There is no option to disable Turbo Mode. ASRock Extreme4 x79.

http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/448...ew/index4.html

red777star 12-23-11 12:43 AM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mullet (Post 2513539)

If i don't overclock turbo option shows up and even that still doesn't do a ****. It still changes clock based on load. Sandy Bridge CPU is so gay.

red777star 12-23-11 12:44 AM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jcrox (Post 2513531)
I was able to set mine to stay at 4.4GHz with no power saving....


You're doing it wrong

i7 3930K is different than 2500K. Power management is different.

red777star 12-23-11 12:52 AM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by slaWter (Post 2513552)
Choosing Asrock for a highend platform :rofl

Lol. Board is very stable with 4.6Ghz overclock. I guess i will have to wait to see if this is a bug.

mullet 12-23-11 12:54 AM

Re: Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by slaWter (Post 2513552)
Choosing Asrock for a highend platform :rofl

lol


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.