nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Other Desktop Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Post your ASIC Quality. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=172596)

Roadhog 01-21-12 04:02 PM

Post your ASIC Quality.
 
Quote:

The next new feature is ASIC quality, designed for NVIDIA Fermi (GF10x and GF11x GPUs) and AMD Southern Islands (HD 7800 series and above), aimed at advanced users, hardware manufacturers, and the likes. We've found the ways in which AMD and NVIDIA segregate their freshly-made GPU ASICs based on the electrical leakages the chips produce (to increase yield by allotting them in different SKUs and performance bins), and we've found ways in which ASIC quality can be quantified and displayed. Find this feature in the context menu of GPU-Z. We're working on implementing this feature on older AMD Radeon GPUs.
Download GPU-Z from here: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...-Z_v0.5.8.html

Open it up, select your GPU at the bottom, then click the little green GPU icon in the very top left and click on "Read ASIC Quality".

Post results here.

7970 #1: 79.9%
7970 #2: 83.6%
7970 #3: 74.5%

Rummy 01-21-12 04:43 PM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
GTX 580 65.1

shadow001 01-21-12 05:01 PM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
here's mine...Counting from the CPU downwards(GTX580's):

1: 46%
2: 53.4%
3: 68.9%


Kinda sucks that the first and second ones are so low, but they are using more voltage even at stock speeds too(1.063 and 1.050 volts respectively)....The one on the very bottom at 68.9% one only needs 1.025 volts at stock...Gigabyte sucks.:P

i SPY 01-21-12 05:46 PM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
Here is mine :)

http://i765.photobucket.com/albums/x...sting/ASIC.png


and yes its a good OC'er with low voltage :p

ViN86 01-24-12 11:09 AM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
GTX 560 Ti reads 90.6%

Ninja Prime 01-24-12 09:42 PM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
These are actually backwards, according to an AMD rep, high leakage parts actually clock higher. I'll see if I can dig up the explaination.

i SPY 01-25-12 07:51 AM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ninja Prime (Post 2522586)
These are actually backwards, according to an AMD rep, high leakage parts actually clock higher. I'll see if I can dig up the explaination.

Maybe they can, but use more voltage too.. Although i didnt see one yet, at least when i checked 570gtx OC results.

EciDemon 01-25-12 12:43 PM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
Asus gtx 560 ti top cu2. 80.3%

ViN86 01-25-12 12:51 PM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ninja Prime (Post 2522586)
These are actually backwards, according to an AMD rep, high leakage parts actually clock higher. I'll see if I can dig up the explaination.

Here's the link:

http://www.geeks3d.com/20120122/test...-geforce-gpus/

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMD’s Dave Baumann
Actually, it does the opposite! We scale the voltage based on leakage, so the higher leakage parts use lower voltage and the lower leakage parts use a higher voltage – what this is does narrow the entire TDP range of the product.

Everything is qualified at worst case anyway; all the TDP calcs and the fan settings are completed on the wors case for the product range.

Also, values above 100% are a bug atm, so I wouldn't trust the current GPU-Z results. I'm sure the next release or two will fix it.

Roadhog, what are the voltages for each of the cards you listed?

Roadhog 01-25-12 03:05 PM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ViN86 (Post 2522801)
Roadhog, what are the voltages for each of the cards you listed?

1.112, 1.05, 1.112

ViN86 01-25-12 05:17 PM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
Hmm, so the higher leakage parts use higher voltage. That is assuming we are reading the ASIC values correctly, and that a lower number means more leakage...

i SPY 01-25-12 07:56 PM

Re: Post your ASIC Quality.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ViN86 (Post 2522945)
Hmm, so the higher leakage parts use higher voltage. That is assuming we are reading the ASIC values correctly, and that a lower number means more leakage...

Yeah, well at least it looks so by my gpu with 100.3%. Default voltage is 0.962v @ 770mhz and for 900mhz it needs "only" 1.049v..

Now if i compare it to another 570 TFIII with 0.987v @770mhz it needs 1.068v @900mhz; another 1.025v@ 770mhz needs 1.10v @900mhz. For example I can oc to 962mhz @ 1.10v.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.