nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   4gb vs 16gb (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=172974)

Shamrock 01-28-12 12:50 AM

4gb vs 16gb
 
Right now, I have OCZ Reaper ram, and I just purchased some G.Skill Sniper Ram (love the rifle on the heat spreader, too!).

I have run this ram for 2 years in this mobo. It was never approved ram, and I had to Over volt the ram to get it to work. It's rated @ 1.7v but I HAVE to run it at 1.8v just so I don't get 12 BSODs per day. I have never been able to overclock anything, either.
Occasionally I would get micro stutters, or program lockups.

So, I bought some Sniper ram rated @1.5v and is approved on my mobo on G.Skill's site. Will this alleviate the stuttering/lockups? I plan on OCing with this ram.

I couldn't help myself. $42.99 for 8GB, I had to buy 2. :D

KasuCode 01-28-12 01:08 AM

Re: 4gb vs 16gb
 
4GB is getting low these days id expect you would see a pretty nice difference in daily use. id say you want at least 6GB. I got 3 sets of 2x4GB g.skill DDR 3 1600 for $30 a set on thanks giving i got 3 sets to fill my board $90 for 24GB.

I love G.skill they seem to get it right.

mullet 01-28-12 01:24 AM

Re: 4gb vs 16gb
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by KasuCode (Post 2523721)
4GB is getting low these days id expect you would see a pretty nice difference in daily use. id say you want at least 6GB. I got 3 sets of 2x4GB g.skill DDR 3 1600 for $30 a set on thanks giving i got 3 sets to fill my board $90 for 24GB.

I love G.skill they seem to get it right.

+1 Solid advice.

Shamrock 01-28-12 03:24 AM

Re: 4gb vs 16gb
 
Maybe I should have mentioned AMD Phenom II 955BE. The 6gb, 12gb, and 24gb do not apply to me. :)

I hope it takes care of the stuttering. I hope to OC this CPU decently.

Redeemed 01-28-12 06:57 PM

Re: 4gb vs 16gb
 
I think I got the exact same RAM Kasu got- grabbed 16GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 for like $60 around black friday.

I only buy G.Skill, I've never received a DOA set before, and out of all the kits I've bought from them I've only had one single stick go bad.

Now, I had 6GB before (2x4GB G.Skill, 2x1GB Crucial DDR3 1333) so going to 16GB didn't yield that large a boost. However, I am confident I'll not be limited by my physical memory for many years to come. :D

frenchy2k1 01-30-12 12:50 PM

Re: 4gb vs 16gb
 
I have a X4 920 and I recently went from 4GB to 8GB DDR3 1600.
Despite my best tries, I could not run the RAM at speed.

Remember, the Phenom2 official support is only 1333, so running the RAM at 1600 is as much processor limited as memory limited...

Shamrock 02-03-12 09:28 PM

Re: 4gb vs 16gb
 
Oh wow. Everything is buttery smooth. This new ram is awesome. I can open alot of programs faster, and no stuttering so far in ANY game.

@frenchy...yes I know about the 1333 ram. My old OCZ was 1600 but it was downclocked to 1333. This new sniper ram is approved ram for my mobo, @ 1333.

4x is always better. Unless it's pain. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.