nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Notebook Toshiba 3005S303 Geforce 2 x TV (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=17510)

Ramiro Pereira 09-04-03 07:17 PM

Notebook Toshiba 3005S303 Geforce 2 x TV
 
Hi!

I need work with a TVset via TVout plug and my notebook.
I don't know how to do this at all.
I read the README from NVIDIA DRIVER for several times, but I didn't get nothing.

Can someone help me?

This XF86Config works fine with my note. I need the complement for TVset (clone...).

# XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
# Load "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"


Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us_intl"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Generic Laptop Display Panel 1024x768"
HorizSync 31.5 - 48.5
VertRefresh 40.0 - 70.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "nVidia GeForce 2 Go"
VideoRam 16384
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection

ntt 09-05-03 05:04 AM

Try adding these options to the device section. If it doesn't work, try swapping the two resolutions around in the 'MetaModes' Option. I haven't found a way of telling the driver which device to find first (in fact that's why I'm here!).

Option "TwinViewOrientation "Clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,800x600"

..and these ones I can't tell you the values to use...

"ConnectedMonitors"
"TVStandard"
"TVOutFormat"

The first will be probably be "DFP,TV" for a laptop panel (but it might not...). TVStandard depends on where you live ("NTSC-M" for the US). TVOutFormat is either "COMPOSITE" or "SVIDEO". Composite is the phono plug, which is probably what you've got. S-Video is the annoying little one with lots of pins that nobody uses.

That should get you started - all the optionsd are explained in detail in the README file.

Ramiro Pereira 09-05-03 06:18 AM

Thanks NTT,

Great.
works!!!

But only in 800x600

ntt 09-05-03 07:19 PM

Yeah - the resolution you can go to using the 'Clone' mode will depend on what resolution your card can code to whatever format. You can, by all means try changing the 800x600 to 1024x768 and see if X still starts up. If not, then your TV encoder won't do 1024x768!

You can also use a 'panning domain' to have the 800x600 area on the TV follow the cursor around the 1024x768 desktop area which is all displayed on the monitor, but I haven't played with this, basically because I have no use for it!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.