nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Other Desktop Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=175479)

i SPY 03-03-12 08:25 PM

AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
Just spotted this at guru3d, could be nvidia's GK110 1024?core (~3.8tflops) response..

http://i765.photobucket.com/albums/x...enerife_B3.png



GCN 2.0:
2304 SPs(96 32 bit ALUs per CU)
192 TMUs(8 TMUs per CU)
48 ROPs(2 ROPs per CU)

2304 * 2 * 1.0GHz => 4,608 tflops


^
The numbers could be fake, but tflops count kinda covers itself

Fotis 03-04-12 04:33 AM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
Looks kinda fake and too soon! I guess we'll see.

Johnny C 03-04-12 09:00 AM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
I remember seeing pictures of an AIB partner's product lineup for the 7900 series before it launched on Jan 9th that had the 2304sp part on the list, but it was crossed out. Does anyone remember where that was linked from?


I think this is real...and nV is gonna be butthurt for quite some time.

i SPY 03-04-12 11:34 AM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
Ah yeah, this
http://i765.photobucket.com/albums/x...lobe/leak2.png



lol someone already spotted a spelling mistake in that slide.

It says "...GPUs by enableing higher performance,.."



But imo its not that far off :)

Johnny C 03-04-12 01:44 PM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by i SPY (Post 2533653)
Ah yeah, this
http://i765.photobucket.com/albums/x...lobe/leak2.png



lol someone already spotted a spelling mistake in that slide.

It says "...GPUs by enableing higher performance,.."



But imo its not that far off :)

Spelling mistakes happen, even in large companies...

Johnny C 03-20-12 09:29 AM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
http://www.techpowerup.com/162678/AM...n-Surface.html

Muppet 03-21-12 01:57 AM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
Has there been any info on the 7990 dual GPU card. I thought that was originally due next month.

Muppet 03-21-12 02:20 AM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by K007 (Post 2538446)
i saw some article about the 7990...

Yeah, there was talk about it a little while ago, but nothing lately. With any luck AMD will spring it just after the 680 launches. That would throw a cat amongst the pigeons.

Redeemed 03-21-12 02:31 AM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
I LOVE THIS COMPETITION!!!

:D

Muppet 03-21-12 02:35 AM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 2538448)
I LOVE THIS COMPETITION!!!

:D

Things are good atm.

ViN86 03-21-12 09:12 AM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
Now if we could get more than 2 games that actually use all this hardware. :o

Xion X2 03-21-12 03:02 PM

Re: AMD GCN2.0, 7970 replacement?
 
Heh. Install inspector and enable 4x4 SSAA and watch your framerates plummet. :p

That is.. unless you have multi-GPU.. like me. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.