nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=85)
-   -   Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=178485)

DJMONDY 04-17-12 08:51 AM

Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
Just curious if its worth it?? How much extra fps gain in todays top titles?

Main reason I ask is that I might be in a situation soon where I might be able to afford 2, but is it worth it??

Muppet 04-17-12 05:52 PM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
Going by you sig, even one card would be a huge step up. What size screen do you use.

ATOJAR 04-17-12 05:56 PM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Muppet (Post 2546790)
Going by you sig, even one card would be a huge step up.

Yeah, Hell i went for a GTX260 to my GTX580 and i noticed a massive difference.

I would have thought his CPU would be a bottleneck for x2 680's?

Roadhog 04-17-12 05:56 PM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
This should answer your question.

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/521?vs=555

Muppet 04-18-12 04:21 AM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ATOJAR (Post 2546791)
Yeah, Hell i went for a GTX260 to my GTX580 and i noticed a massive difference.

I would have thought his CPU would be a bottleneck for x2 680's?

You are quite right. Needs a Mobo, CPU and Ram upgrade aswell. Would be better spending money there, before a second 680.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roadhog (Post 2546792)
This should answer your question.

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/521?vs=555

That's quite neat, I haven't seen it before.

DJMONDY 04-18-12 05:19 AM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
This is what im looking at getting first:

Bundle Specification
- CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K 3.30GHz @ 4.40GHz Sandybridge CPU
- Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Intel Z68
- RAM: Kingston HyperX Genesis Grey 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel
- Cooler: Corsair A50 CPU Cooler

Is the motherboard capable of running 2 680s?? I think it is but there's not 2 pciex16 slots, the second drops down to x4 which im guessing isn't ideal. I don't really know about motherboard specs so im in need of some help in this section. What do I do??

I'm going to be using it on a 52" sony 3dtv 1080p

I want to run my games at full settings. Games like BF3, Skyrim, Crysis 2 and hopefully future titles for the next couple of years.

DJMONDY 04-18-12 05:28 AM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
This is interesting: http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...-sli-review/14

BF3 doubles its fps in this test. Is this just that bf3 is made to use more than one card and I wouldn't really see this kind of boost in older games?

Pennyboy 04-18-12 06:30 PM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DJMONDY (Post 2546997)
This is what im looking at getting first:

Bundle Specification
- CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K 3.30GHz @ 4.40GHz Sandybridge CPU
- Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Intel Z68
- RAM: Kingston HyperX Genesis Grey 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel
- Cooler: Corsair A50 CPU Cooler

Is the motherboard capable of running 2 680s?? I think it is but there's not 2 pciex16 slots, the second drops down to x4 which im guessing isn't ideal. I don't really know about motherboard specs so im in need of some help in this section. What do I do??

I'm going to be using it on a 52" sony 3dtv 1080p

I want to run my games at full settings. Games like BF3, Skyrim, Crysis 2 and hopefully future titles for the next couple of years.


Looks good but for the money I would go 2x4gb for 8gb total, that will give you a bit more breathing room and future proofing. If a motherboard drops down to 8x you won't notice a difference. I think it makes 00.1% difference having both slots @ 16x vs both @ 8x. Look up on youtube and Linustechtips does a comparison. That board looks like it only supports Crossfire and is only running @ 4x but don't know what 4x would be like? either case you are better to look at a different board that supports SLI.

I'm running 2xGTX 680s and it makes a difference in games like BF3 etc frames are very high but you really need to be running a 120hz screen or gaming at a 2056x1600 or multi monitor to make it worthwhile.

DJMONDY 04-19-12 06:42 AM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
What do you mean with the 120hz?? Is my tv not up to that amount?

I'm sure the specs said it was 200hz standard then up to 400hz via Sony motionflow system which I don't use anyway as it causes odd effects with it turned on.

My tv model is 52hx903

Pennyboy 04-19-12 04:53 PM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DJMONDY (Post 2547408)
What do you mean with the 120hz?? Is my tv not up to that amount?

I'm sure the specs said it was 200hz standard then up to 400hz via Sony motionflow system which I don't use anyway as it causes odd effects with it turned on.

My tv model is 52hx903

Hey DJMONDY, read the article below it will help you out here, your TV may not refresh at a true 200hz? I am not familar with your model as it appears to be a UK region TV?

http://www.overclock.net/t/662628/60...20hz-explained

nicorulez 05-02-12 01:04 PM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
Yep, I upgraded from an older I7 960 o/c to 3.6 MHZ with dual 480's SLI. I got a new system with 680 SLI and the new I7 3930 o/c to 4.3 at baseline. My FPS doubled in all my games, especially Battlefield 3.

Pennyboy 05-17-12 09:45 PM

Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by munkus (Post 2556201)
Yeah, this pretty much confirms my belief that the 670 or even the 680 won't be much better than my 580, given that my screen rez is 1920x1080.

I game at 1920x1080 @ 120hz and I have noticed a bug difference, especially with 3D Vision!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.