nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Linux VS. Windows XP! XP wins! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=1813)

dostler 09-13-02 11:12 AM

Linux VS. Windows XP! XP wins!
 
I recently did some benchmarking to compare Linux and Windows XP. The benchmark was run in Maya 4 (3D App). I set up a scene with very heavy geometry and ran the same scene on a dual booting Intel machine (so both OS's had the exact same hardware.) The results are reported in fps (frames per second).

RedHat Linux 7.2 = 0.7fps
Windows XP = 2.2fps

Can this possibably be right? I was hoping to get a performace improvement in Linux and ended up with 1/3 of the winodws performance. PLEASE TELL ME I AM DOING SOMETHING WRONG. I want to use Linux as my primary platform but with re****s like this i'ts not worth it.

Heres the breakdown.


Redhat 7.2 Kernel 4.
kernel-smp-2.4.7-10
NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-3123
NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.rh72smp
glibc-2.2.4-29
Mesa-3.4.2-10:3
Maya4_0-4.0.2-67
is according to default Nvidia install instruction with no special options.

Windows XP
Default installation of XP
XP ServicePack 1
Nvidia 2.9.8.0
Maya 4.0.2

Platform:
IBM Intellistation M Pro 686872U
Dual 1Ghz Pentium III
1gig Ram
Quadro4 750 XGL


Is there something wrong with my stetup or is this the performance I can expect from Linux?


David

Updated XF86Config-4:
Section "Device"
# no known options
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce 2 GTS (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA GeForce 2 GTS (generic)"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 2 GTS (generic)"

#BusID
Option "UBB" "on"
Option "WindowFlip" "on"
Option "Overlay" "on"

EndSection

These are the options I set after Ancy's suggestion but It didn't improve performance.

sebazve 09-13-02 03:23 PM

The only thing that comes to my mind that Nvidia drivers for linux are ****! (poor optimized if you wanna say it in a nice way:p). You could try the last official set 29.60.

I dont know how much effort Nvidia puts into linux.

marc 09-13-02 03:35 PM

I notice you have Mesa -and- Nvidia drivers
installed under Linux.
Are you sure you're not running unaccellerated OpenGL in software from the Mesa libs?

Andy Mecham 09-13-02 03:44 PM

Try enabling WindowFlip in your XF86Config-4 file.

--andy

xadas 09-13-02 06:45 PM

true true
 
win xp wins
win xp quake 3 - 230 FPS
linux quake 3 - 130 FPS

same config

any idea how to solve this? :)

slack 8.1, gf2 ti, amd athlon 1700+, 256DDR RAM

borgzilla 09-13-02 08:28 PM

Re: true true
 
Quote:

Originally posted by xadas
win xp wins
win xp quake 3 - 230 FPS
linux quake 3 - 130 FPS

same config

any idea how to solve this? :)

slack 8.1, gf2 ti, amd athlon 1700+, 256DDR RAM

Solve?

I'm happy we got linux drivers at all.

Beside I like picture quality under linux. It's waaay better than under winblows.

Oh if you want more fps under linux try some tweaking. I'm getting better score than you are with the same card/slower cpu. :)

pii350mmxpc100 09-14-02 12:51 AM

Re: Re: true true
 
[quote]Originally posted by borgzilla
[b]

Solve?

I'm happy we got linux drivers at all.


Yea, and try out option flags like -mmmx in the "CFLAGS" section of your make file.

I like to see Windows XP do that. : )

g.krist 09-14-02 05:12 AM

My friend and i have same systems, only he has 2000 AMD and i have 1200. He's getting 75 fps avarage on WinXP. I'm getting average of 85 fps. With playing rtcw. So it's oke for me :)

U can tweak Xfree very good especialy with quadro cards! Check this one: http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86_40/1.0-3123/README
Note to get the new 3123 drivers!

xadas 09-14-02 08:05 AM

i have latest drivers ;), i heard that linux quake 3 has about 10-30% more fps ... :(, ok i try to recompile with mmx and 3dnow and sse, i hope that it helps ...

sebazve 09-14-02 12:46 PM

Are there any utility like RivaTuner for linux?

logan 09-14-02 01:51 PM

Re: true true
 
Quote:

Originally posted by xadas
win xp wins
win xp quake 3 - 230 FPS
linux quake 3 - 130 FPS

Man.. How do you get such fps? I just can't figure it out. I've always seen people posts results of q3a timedemos with like 200+fps.

Even with sound disabled I only get 179fps with 'four'. :/

Maybe you are mistaken, perhaps there is something different between your configuration in windows vs linux.

xadas 09-14-02 04:53 PM

brm
 
it is my custum config ...
in default config i've got more fps byt under linux is performance weak :(, not mystake :(

i tried compile with -mmmx -m3dnow -msse but these options are not recognized by slackware compiler (gcc 2.95.3)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.