nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   DayZ mod for ARMA II (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=183034)

ATOJAR 06-07-12 02:44 AM

DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
If nobody's ever heard of this ARMA II mod i seriously suggest you give it a shot.

http://dayzmod.com/

Anyway i thought i would start a new thread about this awesome game, I wouldn't be surprised if this don't go down the same route and counterstrike and get made into a full stand alone game.

Who here plays the DayZ mod? .. What do you think about it? .. Fell free to talk about anything DayZ related here. :)

Not sure if this is a bug or not but i had found a large ALICE backpack, Over a few days i had a load of good gear, Hunting knife, Watch, Compass, Hatchet etc. Went into a river & when i got out i had no backpack! :(

Blade 06-07-12 06:41 AM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
Has potential but is way to buggy & a huge ball ache to install & get running well, don't touch it if your rig can't handle Arma 2, don't touch it if you are easily frustrated, infact i would suggest not touching it at all until it is in Beta let alone the current Alpha stage.

six_storm 06-07-12 07:01 AM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
I've been reading about this at [H] of the past few weeks. Very interesting concept but wish it was a mod for something other than ARMA. It's $40 for the game (and expansion) lol. Too bad they didn't do this as a mod for the Source Engine . . .

ATOJAR 06-07-12 08:56 AM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Blade (Post 2561946)
Has potential but is way to buggy & a huge ball ache to install & get running well.

Ok so its buggy but that why its still in alpha stage to be fair! .... To install is a doddle, Whats hard about installing it and running it? Now getting into a server is a different story lol. Once in a while i get in 1st try but 90% of the time i have to try a couple of different servers to finally get in, Once in though the games a blast ... Well if you like this kinda game.

LT.Schaffer 06-07-12 11:22 AM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ATOJAR (Post 2561935)
If nobody's ever heard of this ARMA II mod i seriously suggest you give it a shot.

http://dayzmod.com/

Anyway i thought i would start a new thread about this awesome game, I wouldn't be surprised if this don't go down the same route and counterstrike and get made into a full stand alone game.

Who here plays the DayZ mod? .. What do you think about it? .. Fell free to talk about anything DayZ related here. :)

Not sure if this is a bug or not but i had found a large ALICE backpack, Over a few days i had a load of good gear, Hunting knife, Watch, Compass, Hatchet etc. Went into a river & when i got out i had no backpack! :(

that's a feature from ARMA II, in the regular game you drop gear if you go swimming.

ATOJAR 06-10-12 12:55 AM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
If anybody is having issues joining servers try this > http://dayz.sykotix.com/arma-ii-beta-client-install/

After doing this i managed to get in 5 out of 6 different servers first try.

Blade 06-11-12 04:25 AM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
too much of a ball ache despite it's potential, maybe another 3 months & it'll be worthwhile, can't be doing with all the bs to get it running/joining servers etc.

FastRedPonyCar 06-11-12 10:19 AM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
It looks promising but after reading here and over at the GAF thread about it and seeing that the servers just got hacked, I'm going to wait a while longer.

crainger 06-11-12 11:14 PM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
This is a blast with the right group of friends.

FastRedPonyCar 06-12-12 10:50 AM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
Hell with this. I bought the Anniversary X pack last night. TONS of content for 60 bucks and I honestly don't mind handing my money to the small studios like BI.

anyways, I read that one of the DayZ devs works for Bohemia and says the mod works fine with Arma 3.

ATOJAR 06-12-12 11:26 AM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar (Post 2563263)
I read that one of the DayZ devs works for Bohemia and says the mod works fine with Arma 3.

Hmmm i read somewhere(cant remember where)that the DayZ mod didn't work with Arma III & because of Arma III's new engine the mod would have to be totally re-designed.

The dev that works for Bohemia is called Dean “Rocket” Hall, Hes not just a dev but hes the fella that created DayZ, Hes actually a game designer for BI & was working on DayZ in his spare time, The mod has done that well for Arma II that apparently BI have instructed “Rocket” to work on the mod full time.

ATOJAR 06-12-12 03:25 PM

Re: DayZ mod for ARMA II
 
Here's a Current Change-log of the fixes and new features coming in the next v1.7.1 DayZ update.

Quote:

Developer's Note:
* Requires ArmA2 Beta.

Changelog:
* [FIXED] Wire Spools, Toolboxes, hedgehog (tank trap) kits not spawning
* [FIXED] Bodies still being deleted too quickly sometimes
* [FIXED] No backpacks or medical boxes spawning
* [FIXED] "No Speaker..." debug report spam
* [FIXED] Infected spawning too close to players (minimum 30m now)
* [FIXED] Infected not spawning inside buildings any more
* [NEW] Infected can't attack through walls
* [NEW] Infected can't see through objects any more
* [NEW] Infected visibility increased (but limited by LOS)
* [NEW] Infected attack range increased (but limited by LOS)
* [NEW] Infected can cause greater damage when they hit you
* [NEW] Optimized server cleanup routine
As posted by “Rocket” over on the DayZ forums, Seems pretty sweet so far.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.