nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Base mosaic and rotation? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=184596)

happyfunbot 06-19-12 08:13 AM

Base mosaic and rotation?
 
For reference, I have two cards and four heads in a line from left to right: landscape, portrait, portrait, portrait. I am currently configured in base mosaic mode to make all the displays active.

I'm getting this in my Xorg log:
Code:

[ 29737.755] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Rotation and Reflection are not supported in this X screen
[ 29737.755] (WW) NVIDIA(0):    configuration: ignoring Rotation and Reflection MetaMode
[ 29737.755] (WW) NVIDIA(0):    attribute.
[ 29737.755] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Rotation and Reflection are not supported in this X screen
[ 29737.755] (WW) NVIDIA(0):    configuration: ignoring Rotation and Reflection MetaMode
[ 29737.755] (WW) NVIDIA(0):    attribute.
[ 29737.755] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Rotation and Reflection are not supported in this X screen
[ 29737.755] (WW) NVIDIA(0):    configuration: ignoring Rotation and Reflection MetaMode
[ 29737.755] (WW) NVIDIA(0):    attribute.
[ 29737.755] (II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
[ 29737.755] (II) NVIDIA(0):   
[ 29737.755] (II) NVIDIA(0):    "GPU-0.DFP-0:nvidia-auto-select,GPU-0.DFP-1:nvidia-auto-select{Rotation=left},GPU-1.DFP-0:nvidia-auto-select{Rotation=left},GPU-1.DFP-1:nvidia-auto-select{Rotation=left}"

Should I interpret this as rotation not currently being supported in base mosaic mode? If so, why? Will this magically work if I locate some SLI cables, hook my two cards together, and switch to SLI mosaic mode? I may have to downgrade to 295 and restore my old Xinerama-based config if I can't get this working adequately.

Getting driver 302 was a mostly pleasant surprise this morning: although my computer is now basically unusable because I don't like turning my head 90 to get work done, it's nice to know that XRandR 1.3 is finally (mostly) supported. Good job, devs.

The only other obvious problem I've noticed is that the output of xrandr --current makes no sense: it lists four DVI devices, but only two of them (DVI-I-2 and -3) are active and have resolutions while the other two (DVI-I-0 and -1) are listed as disconnected. This, despite the fact that all four heads are working. So there may be some integration problem here.
Code:

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 7680 x 1200, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-I-0 disconnected
DVI-I-1 disconnected
TV-0 disconnected
DVI-I-2 connected 1920x1200+3840+0 519mm x 324mm
  1920x1200      60.0*+
  1600x1200      60.0 
  1280x1024      75.0    60.0 
  1152x864      75.0 
  1024x768      75.0    60.0 
  800x600        75.0    60.3 
  640x480        75.0    59.9 
DVI-I-3 connected 1920x1200+5760+0 519mm x 324mm
  1920x1200      60.0*+
  1680x1050      60.0 
  1600x1200      60.0 
  1280x1024      75.0    60.0 
  1152x864      75.0 
  1024x768      75.0    60.0 
  800x600        75.0    60.3 
  640x480        75.0    59.9 
  1920x1080 (0x1c6)  138.5MHz
        h: width  1920 start 1968 end 2000 total 2080 skew    0 clock  66.6KHz
        v: height 1080 start 1083 end 1088 total 1111          clock  59.9Hz
  1440x900 (0x1c9)  136.8MHz
        h: width  1440 start 1536 end 1688 total 1936 skew    0 clock  70.6KHz
        v: height  900 start  903 end  909 total  942          clock  75.0Hz
  1440x900 (0x1ca)  106.5MHz
        h: width  1440 start 1520 end 1672 total 1904 skew    0 clock  55.9KHz
        v: height  900 start  903 end  909 total  934          clock  59.9Hz
  1280x960 (0x1cd)  108.0MHz
        h: width  1280 start 1376 end 1488 total 1800 skew    0 clock  60.0KHz
        v: height  960 start  961 end  964 total 1000          clock  60.0Hz
  1280x800 (0x1ce)  83.5MHz
        h: width  1280 start 1352 end 1480 total 1680 skew    0 clock  49.7KHz
        v: height  800 start  803 end  809 total  831          clock  59.8Hz
  1024x768 (0x1d1)  75.0MHz
        h: width  1024 start 1048 end 1184 total 1328 skew    0 clock  56.5KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  777 total  806          clock  70.1Hz
  800x600 (0x1d4)  50.0MHz
        h: width  800 start  856 end  976 total 1040 skew    0 clock  48.1KHz
        v: height  600 start  637 end  643 total  666          clock  72.2Hz
  800x600 (0x1d6)  36.0MHz
        h: width  800 start  824 end  896 total 1024 skew    0 clock  35.2KHz
        v: height  600 start  601 end  603 total  625          clock  56.2Hz
  640x480 (0x1d8)  31.5MHz
        h: width  640 start  656 end  696 total  832 skew    0 clock  37.9KHz
        v: height  480 start  481 end  484 total  520          clock  72.8Hz


Plagman 06-19-12 01:19 PM

Re: Base mosaic and rotation?
 
Hi Happyfunbot,

You're right that SLI (including Mosaic) + transformations, reflections and rotations are not currently supported in the 302 release series.

This combination is now supported and this support should get delivered in the upcoming 304 release series.

happyfunbot 06-19-12 01:26 PM

Re: Base mosaic and rotation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Plagman (Post 2565361)
Hi Happyfunbot,

You're right that SLI (including Mosaic) + transformations, reflections and rotations are not currently supported in the 302 release series.

This combination is now supported and this support should get delivered in the upcoming 304 release series.

Okay, two things:

(1) Did some research and it turns out that SLI is *not* what I want: that would cut me down to two heads, which defeats the purpose of trying to get four heads working.

(2) You are saying that BaseMosaic (the non-SLI/non-MultiGPU version of mosaic, which I presume is similar to the multi-Device Xinerama thing I have going with 295 now) does not support transformations/reflections/rotations under 302 but *will* under 304, correct? If so, AWESOME. I'm back on 295 now so I have a usable setup, but having real dynamic XRandR support for my setup would be teh r0x0rz. ;-)

AaronP 06-20-12 12:32 AM

Re: Base mosaic and rotation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by happyfunbot (Post 2565365)
(2) You are saying that BaseMosaic (the non-SLI/non-MultiGPU version of mosaic, which I presume is similar to the multi-Device Xinerama thing I have going with 295 now) does not support transformations/reflections/rotations under 302 but *will* under 304, correct? If so, AWESOME. I'm back on 295 now so I have a usable setup, but having real dynamic XRandR support for my setup would be teh r0x0rz. ;-)

That's correct. However, with 295.* you couldn't rotate one display in a TwinView configuration, so it's not clear to me how you are achieving the configuration you describe above.

Quote:

Originally Posted by happyfunbot (Post 2565267)
The only other obvious problem I've noticed is that the output of xrandr --current makes no sense: it lists four DVI devices, but only two of them (DVI-I-2 and -3) are active and have resolutions while the other two (DVI-I-0 and -1) are listed as disconnected. This, despite the fact that all four heads are working. So there may be some integration problem here.

I've seen this problem too, and filed bug 1003614 to track it down. Thanks for reporting it!

Sincerely,
Aaron

AaronP 06-20-12 12:34 AM

Re: Base mosaic and rotation?
 
Oops, I just noticed that you mentioned that you were using multiple devices with Xinerama with 295.*. That sort of configuration should still work with 302.*. If it doesn't, could you please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.gz file?

Plagman 07-13-12 12:23 PM

Re: Base mosaic and rotation?
 
Hi happyfunbot,

The new 304.22 beta release will let you use transformations in combination with SLI Mosaic / BaseMosaic. You can also use BaseMosaic in a wider range of configurations with this driver.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show....php?p=2569743


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.