nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Basic Mosaic , 304 drivers , 4 monitors (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=187967)

Wadlax 08-18-12 12:14 PM

Basic Mosaic , 304 drivers , 4 monitors
 
Greetings.
I have 4 monitors connected to 2 x Geforce GTX 470
They are connected with SLI conector, but i had not setup SLI in Xorg config.

I use BaseMosaic
Option "MetaModes" "GPU-1.DFP-0: 1920x1080+0+0, GPU-1.DFP-2:
1920x1080+1920+0, GPU-0.DFP-0: 1920x1080+0+1080, GPU-0.DFP-2: 1920x1080+1920+1080"

I use nvidia-drivers-295.71 and all 4 monitors work.
After installing nvidia-drivers-304.37 -- i see that only 3 monitors work.
After reinstalling nvidia-drivers-295.71 all 4 monitors work again.



--In README for 295.71
--http://ru.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...igoptions.html
--"Base Mosaic is supported on all the configurations supported by SLI Mosaic Mode."

In announcement for 304.22
" Extended support for Base Mosaic to all G80+ SLI configurations with up to three displays. "

In README for 304.37
http://ru.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...igoptions.html
"Base Mosaic is supported on all G80 and higher SLI configurations up to three display devices."



So, some questions :

1. Does nvidia-drivers-304.37 support BaseMosaic with more than summary 3 monitors on all cards ?

2. Is it a regression , or intended feature downgrade ?

3. Will BaseMosaic support be extended for more than 3 monitors ?

4. How many monitors can be connected and used on GTX 680 ?

5. Will 2 x GTX 680 on nvidia-drivers-304.37 support summary 4 monitors ?




Edit : Yes, my bad. I thought, that in some README i saw Geforce was supported.
But "danix NVIDIA Corporation" state, that it does not supported.
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...18&postcount=5

In any case. 4 monitors in my setup :
295.71 - unofficially works.
304.37 - officially does not work.

JaXXoN 08-18-12 08:50 PM

Re: Basic Mosaic , 304 drivers , 4 monitors
 
Interesting that Base Mosaic worked for you with the consumer cards because this feature was only "reserved" for G80+ *Quadro* cards (including NVS). Nice to read that with LCDs getting cheaper and cheaper, nvidia slowly changes it's mind and also allows base mosaic for consumer cards. I'm pretty sure that the limitation to three LCDs is just a software thing (as you could drive four with the older version). Anyway, too my knowledge, there are GTX680 cards that support up to four displays without the need for base mosaic. However, you may need some DP or HDMI adaptors.

regards

Bernhard

Wadlax 08-21-12 01:06 AM

Re: Basic Mosaic , 304 drivers , 4 monitors
 
"Questions for Nvidia on linux GTX-680 support"
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=176876


Until upgrade i will stop on 295 drivers.

happyfunbot 09-09-12 09:11 AM

Re: Basic Mosaic , 304 drivers , 4 monitors
 
2 Attachment(s)
Same problem here. I'm evidently stuck on 295 until this is fixed, because I cannot even figure out how to migrate my current Xinerama-based config to 304. Sigh. At this point, I've really lost any motivation to figure out how to make this work until I absolutely have to upgrade, but if anyone wants to help, here's what I've got. When I try to run this exact config on 304, static rotation doesn't work, but I *think* everything else is okay.

The real solution to this is for the driver to support four heads with RandR on my config. Clearly it can be made to work because I have been using the 50% solution with Xinerama successfully since 2009, and the rest of it feels like purely software.

xorbe 09-11-12 04:30 PM

Re: Basic Mosaic , 304 drivers , 4 monitors
 
Yeah, to fix rotation, the options changed, use something like:
Quote:

Option "MetaModes" "DFP-0: 1600x1200 { Rotation=left }, DFP-1: 1600x1200 { Rotation=left }, DFP-2: 1600x1200 { Rotation=left }"

WohthaN 09-12-12 11:11 AM

Re: Basic Mosaic , 304 drivers , 4 monitors
 
Same problem here:

03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF114 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti] (rev a1)
04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF114 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti] (rev a1)

Debian Sid,

302.17-3 works with 4 monitors
304.48-1 same configuration as above, downgrades automatically to 3 monitors

That's too bad, this feature really rocks and i'd hate to lose it.
If there is anything I can do to help in fixing the issue, here I am!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.