nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Help me find my GeForce4 Ti 4600 bottleneck (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=1887)

rhipidon 09-15-02 10:04 PM

Help me find my Geforce 4 4600 Bottleneck
 
What is with my system? I only get on average 40fps in UT2003 and horribly choppy graphics in Battlefield 1942. Here are my system specs:

Abit KX7-333 /w latest BIOS and VIA 4in1s
AGP 4x & Apature set to 128mb
512 MB Samsung DDR @ 333mhz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1610 (280 mhz bus, 140fsb x2)
PNY Geforce 4 4600 @ 324/729
Detonator 40.41
WinXP Pro /w SP1 installed
10281 3dMarks in 3DMark 2001 SE
SoundBlaster Live 5.1 /w latest drivers
Dlink DWL-520+ Wireless PCI Network Card
Western Digital 40 gig 7200 RPM Hard Drive /w UDMA100 enabled
Plextor 16x CDRW
Pioneer A04 DVDR
Maxtor 30 gig 5200 RPM Hard Drive /w UDMA66 enabled

Any ideas? I just can't figure out what my bottleneck is.

McBane 09-15-02 10:28 PM

have ya tried the 30.82's?

the 40s have some issues with the game....its in the readme...

rhipidon 09-15-02 11:58 PM

Yeah I just tried them. Performance was even worse unfortunatly. :(

Gator 09-16-02 07:52 AM

have you tried the stock speeds on your GF4, maybe something is messing it up. If that doesnt work, then try putting your FSB at 133, it might not like the overclock in some games

(me shrugs)

pelly 09-16-02 12:54 PM

How do you have those HD's hooked up?

What drive do you have your pagefile setup on?

Hopefully, your OS and games are loaded on that 7200rpm drive...If you can get everything onto that one drive....take out the 5400rpm drives ( temporarily ).....

Ensure that the 7200rpm HD is the only device on the primary channel......

Go into Control Panel-Hardware-Device Manager and check the properties for the Primary IDE Controller.....Here, you want to make sure that the current transfer mode is Ultra DMA5 ( ATA100 )

Go and try this out and let us know how things turn out....I'm almost certain it has something to do with the setup of the HD's...

Good luck!

:D

rhipidon 09-16-02 03:31 PM

Thank you so much for the replys! My OS is on the 7200rpm/UDMA 5 Drive, and in Device Manager I confirmed that it was in fact UDMA Mode 5. That hard drive (master) shares IDE channel 1 with my 16x Plextor CDRW, which is running Multi-Word DMA Mode 2. The 5200rpm drive is the master on the 2nd IDE channel and is running UDMA Mode 4, and the slave on that channel is my Pioneer A04 DVDR running UDMA Mode 2. I really appreciate all the help and ideas. I'm at a loss as to what it could be!

saturnotaku 09-16-02 03:37 PM

If your DVD-RW is running in UDMA mode, I would swap it with your CD-RW to see if that helps. Or, you could put both hard drives on the primary and your optical drives on the secondary channel.

I have my system set up this way (2 Seagate HDD's running UDMA mode 5; Plextor CD-RW and Pioneer DVD-ROM on IDE 2 running UDMA mode 2) and it's worked really well.

randsom 09-17-02 08:30 AM

how old is your install of xp,os peformance degrades after time(affects gaming pefoRmance), especially if you install and uninstall alot of software or applicatons, run directx diagnostics, see if any problems exist.
I am curious whether you have stabilty problems, or any conflicts
somewhere

www.viahardware.com

has a great faq on the kx7-333.with alot of info on exactly these kinda problems.

ps i had the same issue with win2k(i just upgraded to xp pro), the way i could fix it was to reformat

FastM 09-17-02 12:38 PM

Re: Help me find my Geforce 4 4600 Bottleneck
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rhipidon
What is with my system? I only get on average 40fps in UT2003 and horribly choppy graphics in Battlefield 1942. Here are my system specs:

Abit KX7-333 /w latest BIOS and VIA 4in1s
AGP 4x & Apature set to 128mb
512 MB Samsung DDR @ 333mhz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1610 (280 mhz bus, 140fsb x2)
PNY Geforce 4 4600 @ 324/729
Detonator 40.41
WinXP Pro /w SP1 installed
10281 3dMarks in 3DMark 2001 SE
SoundBlaster Live 5.1 /w latest drivers
Dlink DWL-520+ Wireless PCI Network Card
Western Digital 40 gig 7200 RPM Hard Drive /w UDMA100 enabled
Plextor 16x CDRW
Pioneer A04 DVDR
Maxtor 30 gig 5200 RPM Hard Drive /w UDMA66 enabled

Any ideas? I just can't figure out what my bottleneck is.

What resolutions are you trying to run the games in? hows yer 3dmark2k1 score?

rhipidon 09-17-02 02:59 PM

10281 3dMarks in 3DMark 2001 SE, and I usually run @ 1280 x 960. My Windows XP install is only 2 days old.

FastM 09-17-02 03:17 PM

Im not really sure how to help you, but im curious if you did any benching Before installing the 4in1's after your fresh XP install.

With my MSI TI4200 64meg and a AXP 1900+ / KT266A Nothing overclocked with no AA or AF i Average around 40fps in UT2003 Demo @ 1280x1024. Gets a little jumpy but playable.

Blakhart 09-18-02 11:20 AM

You could try:
16 bit colour
aa and af off
lower res
lower refresh (say 75 Hz or slightly faster as minimum)
disabling enhanced cpu instructions in opengl
lower ram timings
setting fast cpu decode to off
trying a different driver
trying the game in question at bios and vid card defaults, just to check.


just some thoughts

ps

via could not pay me to install any 4n1s other than those that are in xp or 2k natively...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.