nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Brightness control not working by default in driver 304.37 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=189049)

ferrazrafael 09-02-12 06:47 PM

Brightness control not working by default in driver 304.37
 
1 Attachment(s)
Im using fedora 17 x86_64, with driver 304.37 packed by rpmfusion. But this bug seems to be in ubuntu too.

I have a Dell Vostro 3500 laptop with an geforce 310m.

I needed to include "EnableBrightnessControl=1" to have lcd brightness control working. Contacting rpmfusion, they said that nvidia should fix this, enabling brightnesscontrol by default. So here Im.

I first followed this guide to fix this.

http://askubuntu.com/questions/39391...3500-wont-work

And here is the rpmfusion bug report

https://bugzilla.rpmfusion.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2465

thanks

kwizart 09-03-12 04:52 AM

Re: Brightness control not working by default in driver 304.37
 
Note that the brighteness control worksforme with the same driver and a DELL 630.
So the root problem could be somewhere else. (ACPI ? Is there a bios update ?)

kwizart 09-03-12 05:22 AM

Re: Brightness control not working by default in driver 304.37
 
I also note that you have been hit by the nvidia console problem.
You might need to add "video=vesa: off vga=normal" to the kernel parameter.
(Will be handled by the RPM Fusion package ASAP).

ferrazrafael 09-03-12 02:27 PM

Re: Brightness control not working by default in driver 304.37
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kwizart (Post 2572577)
Note that the brighteness control worksforme with the same driver and a DELL 630.
So the root problem could be somewhere else. (ACPI ? Is there a bios update ?)

I have the lastes BIOS installed. Dell doesnt provide any VBIOS update soo far.

I tried add only the "acpi_osi=Linux" in the line with GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX= (located in /etc/default/grub), without changing xorg.conf but this didnt work. I needed to explicitly declare "EnableBrightnessControl=1" to work.

Maybe this could be elsewhere since brightness control couldnt work with nouveau too.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.