nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Nforce2 Chipset - Drivers LAN + OPEN GL for Redhat9 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=18908)

slicknick1213 10-01-03 02:48 PM

Nforce2 Chipset - Drivers LAN + OPEN GL for Redhat9
 
Hi guys,

I am currently enrolled in a Linux course but I am still fairly new with Red Hat. I just recently built a new box for the purpose of school. It has Red Hat 9 and Windows XP dual booted. My only problem so far is that I don't know how to get my LAN driver/Built in NIC to work. I was going to try and download one of the .rpms but my kernel is 2.4.20-8 not -6 or -9.

The sound and graphics portion seem to have installed with the OS just fine. Allthough I have heard that the open GL doesnt work with the basic driver installed.

Anyone know how to get the Open GL and LAN working? I truely appreciate every response I get. Thank you guys for the help! :D

MY COMP SPECS ARE:

AMD ATHLON XP 2000+
MSI K7N2GM-L MS-6777 w/ BUILT IN NFORCE2 MCP
WD 40GB HDD
KERNEL: 2.4.20-8

playaz 10-01-03 03:50 PM

For the ethernet lan, you can use the nForce drivers based on SRPMS or .tar.gz found at the NVIDIA website. Follow the README instructions.

Hope that helps.

slicknick1213 10-01-03 06:42 PM

help
 
Well..I downloaded the NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm file but I am so newb I don't know what to do with it...I'm pretty sure this is the file I need..

I tried following the instructions

example% cd <directory with the rpm file>
example% su
Password: ******
example# rpm --rebuild NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm

After I hit enter..it says
--rebuild is an unknown option

I'm stuck here..what am I doing wrong..I realize this is very weak question..but I am quite new.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

System:
AMD ATHLON XP 2000+
RED HAT 9.0 (Downloaded)
Kernel: 2.4.20-8
Motherboard: MSI K7N2GM-L MS-6777
RAM: DDR-400 256MB
Video: Nforce2 MCP
HD: WD 40GB 7200RPM HDD

Say0nar4 10-02-03 03:09 PM

use rpmbuild instead

example% cd <directory with the rpm file>
example% su
Password: ******
example# rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm

playaz 10-02-03 06:37 PM

another option
 
If you don't have the "rpmbuild" you can follow the instructions for using the .tar.gz file instead of the .src.rpm file.

fnarf 10-14-03 07:10 PM

I feel your pain. I'm also a brand-new linux newbie with your same motherboard, same Red Hat distribution, same problem: No NIC. Here's how I got it to work:

1. Clean up previous attempts. I don't know how to do this, so I just reinstalled Red Hat 9. I'm sure there's a clever way to undo previous changes, but I don't know it.

2. download the source rpm. As you correctly note, the existing binary rpms won't work, as they are for 2.4.20-6 or -9, and your kernel is 2.4.20-8. The source rpm is NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm and is available at http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_nforce_1.0-0261 (bottom of the page).

3. Log in as root. I found that becoming root isn't good enough, as important binary directories, like /sbin, weren't in my path otherwise.

4. Put the source rpm on a floppy, and copy it to your linux box. I put it in the /root directory, which is probably bad.

5. In that same directory, build the binary rpm from the source rpm by typing

% rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm

a few screens of gibberish will scroll. The only thing that matters (assuming no errors) is the line near the end that reads

"Wrote /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm"

6. Go to that directory and rpm that file:

% rpm -i NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm

7. Load the module by typing

% modprobe nvnet

You will get warnings about a tainted GPL license, which may annoy your soul but won't bother your computer any.

8. I don't know how to do this part in shell, only in the GUI (Gnome). Run the Network Configuration tool in System Tools again. You should see your nvnet on eth0 on the Hardware tab. On the Device tab, click "New", select "Ethernet connection", click "Forward", select "nvnet (eth0)", click "Forward", and click "Forward" one more time. After a short delay you should have a usable NIC. Click "Activate" to, uh, activate.

9. ping google.com and/or open a web page to check it. Mine works.

bahamot 10-15-03 02:18 AM

Quote:

"Wrote /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm"

6. Go to that directory and rpm that file:

% rpm -i NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm

u can just type : "rpm -Uvh /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm"
without have cd to /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.