nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   CPUs, Motherboards And Memory (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Overclocking issues... (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=1898)

mcortz_2000 09-16-02 10:39 AM

Overclocking issues...
 
Hi All,

Well as the heading might suggest(extremely sarcastic) I am having issues with my current setup.

My CPU voltage is @1.65(up from 1.5) and my Ram voltage is at default. The issue I am having is that when I turn on my system sometimes it will not boot. Sometimes it takes 5 minutes of continually resetting before it will boot. Once it is up and running everything is fine.
I overclocked my CPU from 1.8A to 2.4 simply by switching the FSB from 100 to 133.
Personally i think there might be a short somewhere on the motherboard but I will find that out tonight. I am using Samsung pc-2700 DDR at default timmings.
I have purchased an AVC Sunflower socket 478 cooler and plan to install it as soon as i get some arctic II/ or III thermal grease.

Any help will be appreciated...

pelly 09-16-02 11:28 AM

Ah...I'm familiar with this problem....this very problem instigated the research into the "wire-wrap" around the pin trick...

Essentially, the startup voltage is not high enough by default to supply the CPU with enough voltage to start. By using the wire-trick, the default motherboard values are over-ridden and the CPU can get the necessary amount of voltage....

I'll try to dig up an article or two which outlines the issue in more detail....

:D

pelly 09-16-02 12:42 PM

Here's the goods:

( Quick explaination...applies to this case as well )
"A lot of people with a CUSL2 series motherboard suffer from what is generally known as "The Cold Boot Problem". The Cold Boot Problem comes into play when you have a processor that needs more than its default voltage to POST (initial Power On Self Test) at a certain speed.

Although you can select voltages up to 0.3V higher than the default in BIOS, the CUSL2 series does not apply the selected voltage until after the computer has POSTed. This means that your computer will hang during POST because your processor does not receive the required voltage. "



http://www.pcextreme.net/p4oc.php

http://www.vr-zone.com/guides/Intel/Northwoodmod/


Good luck! Let us know how everything goes...

:D

mcortz_2000 09-16-02 12:53 PM

Thanks for the help Pelly. I will read through those and try it as soon as I get a chance. I will be sure to let u know how it goes.

pelly 09-16-02 12:58 PM

If you do try it...get THIN gauge wire......I think you can find 32gauge wire at craft stores.....even Wal-Mart has it...take your time and make sure the loop is tight.....If you take your time, you'll have no problems...

Let me know if you have any other questions....

Email: pelly@nvnews.net

:D

Starscream 09-16-02 03:41 PM

My CUBX does that as well. I recommend using a wire from an ata 66 cable, they work nicely.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.