nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Twinview with different resolutions? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=190309)

ocgltd 09-10-12 10:46 AM

Twinview with different resolutions?
 
I'm successfully using twinview to drive 2 monitors for my home theatre computer (one in the case, one projector). I recently upgraded my projector and now the two screens have vastly different resolutions (1920x1200, 848x400). As a result twinview is forcing me to use very little of my projector resolution (scaling up a fuzzy image), OR, overdrive the little screen until is shuts off with "OUT OF RANGE" message but have a great projector image.

I would like to drive the projector at full resolution, and have the (nvidia) driver/X scale this same image down to 848x400 for my small screen.

Is this possible? I'm running Centos 6.3 x64 with X.

johnc 09-10-12 04:59 PM

Re: Twinview with different resolutions?
 
Can you post your xorg.conf?

What driver version are you using?

ocgltd 10-30-12 08:16 PM

Re: Twinview with different resolutions?
 
Here's my xorg.conf. I'm running the nvidia driver 304.43.
Thanks!

Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier    "dual head configuration"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option        "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Keyboard0"
    Driver        "kbd"
    Option        "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option        "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Mouse0"
    Driver        "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/input/mouse1"
    Option        "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Monitor0"
    VendorName    "SilverstoneTek"
    ModelName      "Chassis"
    HorizSync      28.0 - 55.0
    HorizSync      28.0 - 110.0
    VertRefresh    43.0 - 72.0
    VertRefresh    43.0 - 150.0
    ModeLine      "800x480_60" 29.59 800 832 944 976 480 490 495 505
    ModeLine      "1280x720_60" 73.78 1280 1312 1592 1624 720 735 742 757
    ModeLine      "1920x1200_60" 73.78 1280 1312 1592 1624 720 735 742 757
    Option        "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Monitor1"
    VendorName    "Sony"
    ModelName      "VPL-HS51"
    HorizSync      15.0 - 600.0
    VertRefresh    15.0 - 600.0
    Option        "dpms"
    ModeLine "1920x1200_60" 193.16 1920 2048 2256 2592 1200 1201 1204 1242 +HSync +VSync
    ModeLine "1920x1200_73" 230.00 1920 1936 2096 2528 1200 1201 1204 1250 -HSync -VSync
    Option        "UseEDIDFreqs" "FALSE"
    Option        "NoBandWidthTest" "TRUE"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier    "Device1"
    Driver        "nvidia"
    VendorName    "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8600 GT"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier    "Device0"
    Driver        "nvidia"
    VendorName    "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8600 GT"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier    "Screen1"
    Device        "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option        "TVStandard" "HD720p"
    Option        "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    Option        "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x720_60 +0+0, TV: 1280x720_60 +0+0"
    SubSection    "Display"
        Depth      24
        Modes      "1280x720_75" "1280x720_60" "1280x720" "1280x768"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier    "Screen0"
    Device        "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option        "TVStandard" "HD720p"
    Option        "TwinView" "1"
    Option        "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option        "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x720_60 +0+0, TV: 1280x720 +0+0"
    Option        "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0, TV-0"
    SubSection    "Display"
        Depth      24
        Modes      "1280x720_60" "800x480_60" "1280x720_75" "1280x768" "1280x720"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option        "Composite" "Enabled"
EndSection


shmerl 10-31-12 03:19 AM

Re: Twinview with different resolutions?
 
I'm not sure if Xorg is capable of such thing (I think not). What you can possibly do, is running separate X for each monitor.

ocgltd 10-31-12 11:04 AM

Re: Twinview with different resolutions?
 
Is there another way to mirror them then? Since one is on a projector, one is on the PC, and I want to be able to view movies on PC during setup and ALSO projector...

Gusar 11-02-12 01:23 PM

Re: Twinview with different resolutions?
 
Your xorg.conf is a big giant mess. You can achieve what you want with an xorg.conf containing five, maybe six lines. Not kidding with that. I'd have to look at the documentation to figure out the correct Metamodes syntax though. I know how to do it from the commandline, but it requires a patched xrandr utility. With that patch, you do something like:
Code:

xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 848x400 --scale-from 1920x1200
I don't have time right now, but later today I'll provide that patch and also go through the nvidia documentation for the Metamodes.

Edit: Here's the xrandr patch that activates the scale-from option: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.comp....l/30138/match=
About Metamodes, I'm having a lazy moment :), but basically, you need to set ViewPortIn and ViewPortOut. The Nvidia documentation has all the details.

shmerl 11-04-12 02:24 PM

Re: Twinview with different resolutions?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gusar (Post 2579810)
With that patch, you do something like:
Code:

xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 848x400 --scale-from 1920x1200
I don't have time right now, but later today I'll provide that patch and also go through the nvidia documentation for the Metamodes.

Is it a very new feature that it requires a patch? Will it land in the xrandr across major distros as well?

Gusar 11-04-12 03:07 PM

Re: Twinview with different resolutions?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by shmerl (Post 2579914)
Is it a very new feature that it requires a patch? Will it land in the xrandr across major distros as well?

It's not really new, it was checked into the git repository in April: http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/app...4ba83ff9e6c207. But there hasn't yet been a release that would include it. Once a release is made, distros will pick it up.

It's quite cool, for example on my netbook I can do this:
Code:

xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1024x768 \
      --output LVDS1 --mode 800x600 --scale-from 1024x768 --panning 1024x768 --same-as VGA1

Without the patch you can achieve the same effect, but you need to calculate scale factors manually. In my example, instead of "--scale-from 1024x768", you'd use "--scale 1.28x1.28"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.