nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Can't set Unreal Tournament 2003 to 16-bit colors? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=1931)

ant 09-17-02 01:25 AM

Can't set Unreal Tournament 2003 to 16-bit colors?
 
I can't seem to set the game to 16-bit colors to improve the FPS because I am still using a Pentium III 600 Mhz system with 512 MB of RAM, GeForce 2 Pro, and Red Hat Linux 7.2. The setting says 16-bit, but the colors still look 32-bit to me. Even the FPS is the same. Is this a bug in the game?

Thank you in advance. :)

Andy Mecham 09-17-02 01:36 AM

It's actually a feature of the game. :)

X can't change color depths on the fly, so UT2003 will simply ignore requests to go to 16 bit color if your X session is in 24. The only way to get UT2003 to 16 bit is to restart X at 16 bit.

I hope this helps... thanks!

--andy

ant 09-17-02 01:53 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Andy Mecham
It's actually a feature of the game. :)

X can't change color depths on the fly, so UT2003 will simply ignore requests to go to 16 bit color if your X session is in 24. The only way to get UT2003 to 16 bit is to restart X at 16 bit.

I hope this helps... thanks!

Ah thanks Andy. I thought it was like Windows.

Hmm, I don't seem to get any improvements in terms of FPS and smoothness with 16-bit colors. I was hoping to keep all the details max. I did notice the sky color not being smooth but I don't see any speed increase. Did I miss something?

Andy Mecham 09-17-02 02:04 AM

If xdpyinfo reports that you're at 16 bit, then you probably didn't miss anything... the sky color would indicate that you're really in 16 bit. It's a monster of a game.

--andy

ant 09-17-02 02:40 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Andy Mecham
If xdpyinfo reports that you're at 16 bit, then you probably didn't miss anything... the sky color would indicate that you're really in 16 bit. It's a monster of a game.
It is 16-bit because my GNOME menus did not have smooth gradients. Darn about no improvements. I also checked RTCW and Q3A to see any improvements. Very little or none. I guess I need to lower to 800x600 pixels (yuck!!) and upgrade soon (when I have time). :(

tuxfriend 09-17-02 10:06 AM

Hi.

UT2003 will not perform better in 16-bit it is

made to played in 32-bit.I tried it by myself

an the only way I find to get better FPS is to lower the resolution.Also one artikel said that setting

the sound to software modus would help but I

could not see any better performance.

I also thing about upgrading my hardware but

will wait till DOOMIII is out.

de><ta 09-17-02 11:40 AM

true, when i tried running UT2k3 it was slow as. I switched to 16 bit hoping it would speed things up a bit but that did not help at all.

Going to smaller resz is probably the best way to go.

How long does the game take to load up, you know after the splash? For me it takes ages (around 30 seconds). I am not using Xf86 and i have got the game working but it takes freakin forever to load.

I also am getting dog lags.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.