nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Newbie completely lost in Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=19490)

GMan 10-13-03 03:09 PM

Newbie completely lost in Linux

Well, I have found out that learning Linux is a little harder than I expected. I'm very new at this OS (1 week) and am having multiple problems. I would like to update my nVidia drivers and have managed to folow the readme file but get an error that X is running.

I have no clue how to turn it off or what to do. I am running Mandarke 9.1 and have a GeoForce 4 MX440 vidieo card with 64 megs of ram. My CPU is a PIII at 1 gig. I don't know how to get the information mentioned by the moderator on XF86 (I don't know if its installed).

This seems hopeless, but can anybody lead me in the right direction please? Thank you in advance.

GMan.

Head_slinger 10-13-03 04:41 PM

Seeing you are very new to Linux i suggest that you do a little research into what exactly X window server is.

Summary:
Console is Linux, X Window server is running in the console. On windows to update a program you have to close it. That is exactly what the installer wants you todo.

Its been ages since i used Linux. So if you take my advice its your fault :).

Go into a console, and type

init 3

This should close X and spit you into a console. You may have to log in again, go in as root.

Now install the drivers by following the readme as you probably were. Im assuming you already edited your X86 config file. Once all that is done, your set :).

To get back into X just type

init 5

Head_slinger

any probs ill be on ICQ - 113066795 or MSN - head_slinger@hotmail.com

GMan 10-13-03 05:05 PM