nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   audio cds - no sound, modem needs configuring (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=19573)

mat_123 10-15-03 12:43 PM

audio cds - no sound, modem needs configuring
 
hi

when i play audio cds, the time bar keeps moving, but there isnt any sound,
however when i rip them using GRIP, there is sound.
wht could be the problem?

and the modem doesnt get detected automatically, using an internal speakerphone DAX modem. how do i configure manually,

thnkx to anyon who can help

blueworm 10-17-03 12:21 AM

Re: audio cds - no sound, modem needs configuring
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mat_123
hi

when i play audio cds, the time bar keeps moving, but there isnt any sound,
however when i rip them using GRIP, there is sound.
wht could be the problem?

Have you got the sound levels up?
type
Code:

alsamixer
and turn up all the levels.
If this is ok then open up your case and make sure your "analog sound cable is correctly connected from your cd to your soundcard/mainboard.

blueworm 10-17-03 12:38 AM

Re: audio cds - no sound, modem needs configuring
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mat_123
hi

when i play audio cds, the time bar keeps moving, but there isnt any sound,
however when i rip them using GRIP, there is sound.
wht could be the problem?

Have you got the sound levels up?
type
Code:

alsamixer
and turn up all the levels.
If this is ok then open up your case and make sure your "analog sound cable is correctly connected from your cd to your soundcard/mainboard.

mat_123 10-17-03 05:02 AM

ofcourse i have my levels on and the sound cable is configured properly...

i am running winXP also and there im not facing this prob..

anyother suggestions

recbo 10-17-03 06:29 AM

maybe this
 
If your cd cable is plugged in and sound level not muted, can't hear that way, but you can hear when ripping, I guess grip isn't playing direct from cd but rather as it reads.

grip has a mode to play direct, though. Click on all those option buttons til you see play button and volume and then play a track that way, not ripping. If that does not work...my theory works.

recbo 10-17-03 06:31 AM

and
 
What I mean is maybe playing from /dev/cdrom through the cd cable is not working but playing after reading from pci bus ide-scsi /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/generic is working.

recbo 10-17-03 06:36 AM

and as for myself
 
I see the time running when playing through grip but I don't hear anything.

Realplayer shows vid, no sound.

CD cable connected, grip has volume up full.

kernel-2.6.0-test6 finds the nforce2 i8x0 audio, lspci has the asound info, esd loads because since I put the oss emulation in kernel alsa opts there is now a /dev/snd/pcmD0D0p for playback.

No sound.

I set /tmp/.esd ownership so the user myself can read and write.

Something says it can't find host unix sometimes, which would be /tmp/.esd/socket

mat_123 10-17-03 12:22 PM

hmm that makes sense:

so is there no way to hear directly from audio cds

recbo 10-17-03 01:01 PM

no audio
 
I'm going to move the cd cable from the nforce2 audio to a creative emu10k1 chip card this afternoon. I've had that work in linux for years.

If that works then I'm definitely messed up on the nforce2 driver in kernel-source-2.6.0-test6 but I could try test7 tonight. Things are changing so
fast.

I've been ripping and burning through ide-scsi and scsi generic with atapi cd drives. I can't hear anything though.

esd loads ok, grip plays with the time running as if a cd is playing. Realplayer is the app that says it can't find host unix. For that problem I think I need to use" esddsp".

-Bob

recbo 10-18-03 08:59 AM

nv audio working in kernel-2.6-test6
 
Choose kernel source config options for alsa and alsa to "emulate oss" and then the nforce item.

I installed debian packages for libesd-alsa0 and gnome-alsamixer.

esd &

gnome-alsamixer &

As usual everything is muted by default. Use a commandline mixer in a startup script where esd is loaded to set default volume up.

cd plays ok in gnome-alsamixer

realplayer says it can't find host unix and it says maybe another app is using the audio device

recbo 10-18-03 09:48 AM

realplayer and esd
 
Re: esd and realplayer

* To: debian <debian-user@lists.debian.org>
* Subject: Re: esd and realplayer
* From: "Eric G . Miller" <egm2@jps.net>
* Date: Sun, 22 Aug 1999 21:27:17 -0700
* In-Reply-To: <199908230411.VAA02357@MORIEL.DROR>; from Oz Dror on Sun, Aug 22, 1999 at 09:11:55PM -0700
* Mail-Followup-To: debian <debian-user@lists.debian.org>
* References: <199908230411.VAA02357@MORIEL.DROR>

I run esd with '-terminate -as 2' so it allows other processes to use
the sound. The upshot is that if realplayer is running, then gnome
sounds simply don't happen. Kind of a half-way solution. I should
mention that I'm using Icewm-gnome, not Enlightenment.
--

Eric G. Miller
Powered by the POTATO (http://www.debian.org)!

mat_123 10-19-03 02:16 AM

hi recbo

guess u have been doing extensive research..
however iam a newbie to linux, could u explain in a few simple terms as to wht are u tryin got do

will be grateful for ur help
thankx


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.