nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   --base-mosaic and 2x GT240 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=196513)

damien_d 11-10-12 05:49 PM

--base-mosaic and 2x GT240
 
Dear all,

I am attempting to get --base-mosaic going for my two graphics cards. They are as follows:

Code:

damien@damien-desktop:~$ lspci | grep -i vga
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT215 [GeForce GT 240] (rev a2)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT215 [GeForce GT 240] (rev a2)

It appears that they are not supported:

Code:

damien@damien-desktop:~$ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
[  1152.174] Initializing built-in extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
[  1153.061] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to find a valid Base Mosaic configuration.
[  1153.061] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Invalid Base Mosaic configuration 1 of 1:
[  1153.061] (EE) NVIDIA(0): GPUs:
[  1153.061] (EE) NVIDIA(0):    1) NVIDIA GPU at PCI:1:0:0
[  1153.061] (EE) NVIDIA(0):    2) NVIDIA GPU at PCI:2:0:0
[  1153.062] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Errors:
[  1153.062] (EE) NVIDIA(0):    - Unsupported GPU
[  1153.062] (EE) NVIDIA(0):    - Chipset not approved for SLI
[  1153.062] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Only one GPU will be used for this X screen.

The driver version is as follows:
Code:

[  12.586542] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module  304.43  Sun Aug 19 20:14:03 PDT 2012
Any tips?

-- Damien

EDIT: I have cross-posted this question at the new nvidia linux forum: https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/t...m-old-forums-/ I will attempt to get any useful information synchronised.

bwheaton 11-10-12 06:33 PM

Re: --base-mosaic and 2x GT240
 
As far as I can tell, the error messages cover it.

I did manage to get BaseMosaic going on a GTX 460 2Win - a dual GPU card, with an internal PCIe switch.

Apparently something in there made it work, maybe the Nvidia PCIe switch, which may be a 'quadro part'

Apart from that, needs to be Quadro cards in a configuration that supports SLI.

Bruce

damien_d 11-10-12 09:55 PM

Re: --base-mosaic and 2x GT240
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bwheaton (Post 2580479)
As far as I can tell, the error messages cover it.

Oh well. Such is life.

-- Damien


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.